I’m Baaaaack!

I’m back b!tches! Just kidding. I love you all. But, seriously, I’m back! The last couple of months have been tough and I had to take a break from blogging. But here I am, refreshed and ready to go! I want to give a super big thanks to Emily for holding down the fort yet again. I owe you some paleo cookies or at least  a paleo stuffed banana. 

banana

The last couple of months have been weird. I got a new job, bought a house and went through this weird workout funk. I think at one point I took two weeks off the gym. Which is weird and awkward for me. I don’t know what caused it or why I literally wanted to do anything but CrossFit. Has that ever happened to you? Needing to take a break from something you love for absolutely no reason? No? I am the only weirdo? Okay then…

CrossFit is literally the first thing I think about in the morning and the last thing I think about before going to bed (this might have something to do with the fact I go to the 5:30am class, but whatever). So, wanting to take a break blew my mind. I felt unmotivated, uninspired and just plain old crappy. I would look at the WOD in the morning and think about how I couldn’t do it. Then, I would look at the whiteboard at night and be jealous of everyone who kicked ass that day. Weird? Yes. Slightly creepy/obsessive? Probably.

imagesCA15CGHP

Crossfitfire.com

Finally, after a couple of weeks I figured it was time to end my pity party and HTFU. Laying around and feeling bad for myself was not getting me anywhere. I went back to the gym the next morning and rowed 500 meters for time. I thought I was going to cry 50 meters in.  It was 2 minutes of pure suck. But it was just what I needed. I felt alive again. I was hungry. I wanted more.

This weird funk reminded me of the importance of perspective. Just because one cart falls off the track does not mean the whole train needs to derail. We all have so much to be thankful for; our health, family, friends, career etc. I think it is far too easy to lose sight of what’s truly important to us these days. Sure it seems a lot easier to give up and make excuses when the world gets us down. But we owe it to ourselves to pull ourselves up by our bootstraps and continue to move forward. We deserve to make the life we were given completely awesome. So, next time reality deals you a big ol’ FU, take the FU and throw it right back in reality’s face. We don’t have time for that, sucker.

-Erica

3 thoughts on “I’m Baaaaack!

  1. I have been in a funk! I broke all my PRs last year, worked out hard, got stronger, faster, loved CrossFit more than usual (and I’ve been doing it 3 1/2 years). I was doing 2 a days when I wasn’t working 12 hour shifts. I was powerlifting. Loved it all. Then I hurt the tendon in my thumbs, took 2 months off working out almost completely, and now I feel so out of it. I skipped the gym twice this past week. I don’t want to compete anymore. I don’t want to do powerlifting. I love the WODs mostly now, but my heart just isn’t in it as much. There’s a lot of gym drama though and I think it really put me off, so I need to find a new gym and fall back in love with it all.

  2. Hey ladies!
    I use to work with Em a while back and love that you started a blog about your fitness journey! I always take a break from work to read your posts and wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for a Liebster Award, a blog award from bloggers for bloggers. I’ll have a post up about it tomorrow (Monday) morning on my blog, Fitful Focus.It’ll be here: http://fitfulfocus.com/2013/02/23/its-a-major-award. Keep up the amazing posts :).
    Nicole

Leave a Reply

