What’s been up/Monday Rant

Oh hi there. Long time no see!

I forgot to mention last week that I moved and have been without internet access so haven’t been able to post. Don’t even tell me to use my iPhone to do a blog post. Have you tried creating a blog post on an iPhone? My thumbs are way too fat to do that much typing. I actually still don’t even have internet at the new apartment, I’m writing this at work because it turns out no one is psyched to get up and work out at 6AM on a holiday. Who knew? I’m here people. Get your butts out of bed!!

Speaking of beds, we now have the most amazing bed at our new place and it is extremely difficult to get up in the morning. I really think I am going to become more of a hermit with this new bed, if that was even possible. Seriously, if you don’t see or hear from me for 3 days, I have probably drowned in happiness in my huge, fluffy pillows. Our goal was to make it look like a hotel bed, and this bed kicks any hotel beds ass. I will post pictures of the new place and best bed in the world as soon as everything is 100% finished!

Speaking of things I’m obsessed with… (this is the theme of the post.. “speaking of..” AKA welcome to Emily’s Stream of Consciousness”)

photo-104Why yes, that is a vintage Louis Vuitton trunk that is on it’s way to becoming our coffee table and no I did not pay an absurd amount of money for it. It was at Tom’s mother’s house, and she didn’t want it. She actually didn’t realize how cool this thing is, and I was trying to be casual about it when she said “do you guys want it?” but in reality I think I started shrieking. HOW COOL IS THIS THING? We’re both obsessed with history and traveling, and this thing is covered in old travel stickers from all over the world. It’s my favorite part of the new place, and can’t wait until we get a piece of glass fitted for the top and can start using it as a coffee table.

SPEAKING OF… new places. Even though moving is a pain in the ass, the feeling of a new apartment and decorating and making it your own and starting fresh is so exciting. We really lucked out with our place- it’s my friend’s old apartment that her parents are now renting out, so it is really comforting moving into a place that you sort of already know about. Does that make sense? I don’t know, it just feels less foreign. You see so many apartments that just seem… impersonal? Random almost. Like a train of people just go in and out of living in this one space. And with this one, it just feels like home, because I know the people who made it their home already. I’m a weirdo, I know. But it really was the first place we looked at and I thought “this feels right”. It’s so fresh and new and exciting and fun being in this amazing neighborhood where we can walk everywhere. I’m actually looking forward to going home and finishing getting settled and jumping in that BED.

SPEAKING OF… going home. Last night, we went to Tom’s mother’s again to pick up some more of his stuff (and try to steal more trunks…). Naturally, we ended up coming home way later than we anticipated and I was naturally super cranky about missing bedtime. We were schlepping in loads of boxes in the freezing cold at 10:30PM, I was being a certified bitch, complaining the whole way, and complaining we had to go move my car (I’m really pleasant when I’m tired). After the last load, we headed outside to move the car and played the fun game of “Do you have my keys?” “No, I thought you had them?” “No, are you sure you don’t have them?”

And then the realization sunk in that I had in fact, locked them inside the apartment. So, I did the logical thing and bursted into tears and started freaking out and obviously assumed we would have to sleep on the streets or in a homeless shelter. Tom took the less logical approach, Googled a 24 hour locksmith, and we were able to get inside about 30 minutes later. The moral of the story is- karma came around to bite me in the ass for being such a little bitch about my bedtime.

Anyways, that’s what I’ve been up to lately. Apparently Erica is also still alive and is promising a post soon so stay tuned!

-Emily

 

 

3 thoughts on “What’s been up/Monday Rant

  1. I know what you mean about a comfy bed. Between that and the bitter cold outside, the fact that I get up in the morning is a miracle right now. Being stressed will cause a person get locked out…not a fun place to be. Glad you were able to get in relatively quickly. Congrats on the new apartment!

  2. Congrats on the move and finding the AWESOME trunk! I am the same way when I don’t eat, feed me or feel my wrath! After four years my husband sometimes forgets, but once the wrath starts he remembers ASAP!

Leave a Reply

