Dear CrossFit: It’s not you, it’s me

You’ve probably noticed that I haven’t been posting about CrossFit lately, and there’s a reason for that. I’m done with CrossFit. Not like forever, but just for now. Since I started my new job, I was unable to make WODs with my new work and spin schedule.

A lot of people have been asking what I think about CrossFit lately so the point of this post is to provide an honest, non-biased opinion (there are so many CrossFit fanatics out there that will just tell you “CROSSFIT IS AWESOME!!!!!” but not really give any insight.. soo I’m hoping to rectify that).

I was nervous to start CrossFit. I had heard about the workouts- I knew they were going to be intense. I knew I was going to be doing things I had never done before, and that I was going to be sore constantly. But I was excited about the challenge and genuinely loved every single one of my workouts. I felt like I was pushing myself out of my comfort zone, and others around me were pushing themselves just as hard. It’s an incredibly inspiring environment. And- you do something different every day. Your body is constantly being challenged, challenged, challenged. I really don’t think you could ever hit a plateau doing CrossFit because it is so varied. Overall, I surprised myself with how much I loved CrossFit.

But despite my love for CrossFit, I’m not doing it anymore. I’m so thankful to have experienced this new workout phenomenon and will take many aspects of the WODs into my own personal workouts and training sessions with clients, but physically can’t keep going to the box.ย Here’s why:

MjAxMi05NTczNGE2YTFmM2NhN2E4

via Someecards

As much as I enjoyed the workouts and how hard I was pushing myself, at this point in my life, it’s not sustainable. If I wasn’t spinning 5-7x a week, I would probably try to continue doing it, but it was just too much on my body. I wasn’t giving myself proper rest and really can’t risk not being able to teach since it’s now a big part of my income. My goal for the upcoming months is to focus on yoga and becoming more flexible, rather than building muscle. Speaking of which- in my 5 months at CrossFit, I gained muscle. A fair amount of it. Now, I know there are so many people out there who say “CrossFit girls don’t get bulky” and I agree with that. But guess what? CrossFit doesn’t make you bulky, your BODY makes you bulky! I know plenty of girls who CrossFit who are petite and not bulky (Erica being example #1). But I have the type of body that puts on muscle fast and furious, which is a blessing and a curse sometimes. I remember when I did cross country for a semester and was totally psyched about losing all this weight by running all the time and I ended up gaining 15 lbs of muscle, straight to my thunder thighs. Yes, I know this is a totally vain reason for not wanting to continue a specific workout but I’m really not trying to add any more muscle than I already have. One of my good friends told me “well, just don’t lift as much when you go” which is easier said than done. Of COURSE you want to be pushing yourself and lifting heavier each time you go in there. I’m not going to go to CrossFit and pick up 10lb dumbbells to deadlift, let’s be serious.

That’s the other thing about CrossFit- you can’t just casually go sometimes. You need to GO and commit to it. You’re not going to get any stronger, faster or better by just going once a week or every other week. It’s sort of an all or nothing approach. And I’m sort of falling into the “nothing” category. Womp womp.

And finally, one of the biggest reasons why people stay away from CrossFit- the cost. I simply can’t afford to go. I was lucky enough to have a free trial through my awesome Fitfluential family, but on my own, I wouldn’t be able to sustain it. That being said- I TOTALLY understand why Crossfit is so expensive, and don’t think it should be any other way. You are essentially getting personal training, gaining incredible skills and have a huge support system that holds you accountable and motivates you. You push yourself way harder than you would on your own, and that right there is priceless.

So there you have it. ย If it wasn’t for my new job, my spin schedule, my stupid traps and thunder thighs and a bigger wallet, I would still be CrossFitting. Please don’t be sad, CrossFit. It’s really not your fault. It’s me. Maybe at another time and place we can be together, but for now, I regretfully have to break up with you, and truly hope our paths will meet again one day.

Has anyone else experienced this painful breakup?

-Emily

 

24 thoughts on “Dear CrossFit: It’s not you, it’s me

  1. I’m sorry about your breakup – I’ve wanted to join for all the same reasons and haven’t for all the same reasons. I do have the opp to spin everyday though – tell me more about spinning 5-7 times per week. I have a good eating regime which helped me lose about 70 lbs last year…but need to get back on my cardio to lose the other 20! Any advice would be awesome dear!

  2. ugh ya, well… at least you had an awesome experience! i am loving it right now and going 3x a week…but i am noticing being ‘bulkier’ (almost to the point of too bulky) and an empty wallet. it’s just a catch 22. for me it’s what motivates me to workout after a long day at work and i need that. but i hear ya girl

  3. Hi Emily, no break up with Cross Fit for me but soon with my gym for wallett reasons… Painful too… But there is outdoors fitness and kettebelles at home to keep me going.

  4. I haven’t had the chance to try cross-fit but I put on muscle like it’s nothing as well…my weight has literally stayed the same in the past 3 months but my jeans are screaming in the legs. I definitely feel your pain there. I do notice that the more I practice yoga, the leaner my legs look/feel, though!

  5. Crossfit is intense. To continue something that intense I think there would have to be a bigger goal like training to be an Olympian or just wanting to continually get stronger. I wish I could put on muscle that easily. Then again I don’t work out very often and don’t eat enough calories. If you ate less calories wouldn’t you put on less muscle?

  6. Crossfit broke up with me, just when I was getting into it. The gym I joined is doing remodeling and has been closed for at least a month, despite everyone still paying dues. They’re also raising their prices, though I agree with you that Crossift is priced appropriately. I don’t know why I’m commenting with this information. I suppose just to validate your reasons for quitting it for now. It is a big committment.

  7. thanks for this review – I’ve been researching Cross Fit gyms near my area as my plan was to augment my current gym classes with a weekly Cross Fit session; sounds like once a week wont cut it!!! Im still going to give it a try, but at least I have a better understanding and expectation! thanks x

  8. Oh, I so wish I could do cross fit but it is SO cost prohibitive, I would have to give up something else….like…..groceries. hahaha

    It’s too bad that it’s something that only people in a very specific situation can enjoy, due to the cost committment. I guess that’s life though, things aren’t “fair”. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I also experienced this painful breakup in 2012. I trained at a box in Texas for a year, but wasn’t able to commit to or afford it when I moved to NYC in February. I’m about to get have a turn of circumstances this spring, and I’m hoping to join a New York box and maybe even get started with a rock climbing gym in Brooklyn. Wish me luck!

  10. OMG the same here! I have only been doing CrossFit for one month and im absolutely loving it. However i cant afford the amount of money each month, so i have to stop attending the class. It just feel like it is the end of the world, do you know how much it hurts…

Leave a Reply

