How to stay (relatively) healthy on vacation..

I was debating titling this post “How to stay healthy on vacation” but then I realized that having mudslides and ice cream doesn’t exactly qualify as a golden standard of health. BUT, I do have some tips that I think are worth sharing for people that travel a lot (like me). I’m lucky that I always travel for pleasure, but I think that also makes it harder to commit yourself to staying healthy (relatively).

1.) Bring workout gear… and WEAR IT!

photo

 

I’m really not sure why I’m sharing this picture with you all because I look like a psycho. I most definitely scared people away in that gym. Seriously. I did a CrossFit-style workout and was grunting, sweating profusely and just being a little too intense for the soccer moms dabbling on the treadmils.

So when you’re packing- pack workout gear! It sounds simple, right? Okay, next step- WEAR THE WORKOUT GEAR! Don’t just have it sit in the bottom of your suitcase. I packed 3 workout outfits- I was away for 6 days, so figured working out 3 times was enough of a break on my body, but still enough to not make me feel like a total slug. My Reebok RealFlex sneaks are perfect for traveling because they’re so light and bendy that they fit anywhere, and I am OBSESSED with my new workout arm band. Seriously, it’s the only one I’ve had so far that fits the best and doesn’t slip. And it came with Bose headphones, so the sound quality is bomb diggity. Oh, and don’t spend 2 hours in the hotel gym. Do a quick, high intensity circuit that will get you out of there and on the beach ASAP. I did…

 

3 rounds of 12
Alternating dead lifts (35# dumbbells) and sit ups
Alternating overhead air squats (8# medicine ball) and V-sits
Alternating side kicks with 8# medicine ball press and bicycles
Alternating bicep curls (10# dumbbells) and planks (30 seconds each)

Boom. I started off with 10 minutes on the treadmil (2 rounds of 3 minutes walk, 1 minute incline sprint) and was done with the workout in about half an hour. And was so sore the next day and felt really accomplished.

2.) Pack snacks

photo-1

 

The theme of the day is to post embarrassing pictures of myself. Don’t you worry, there are more coming. Whenever I travel, I load up on snacks beforehand. Biggest things- protein, protein shaker, trail mix, dried mangos, and perhaps some plantain chips. Vega has individual protein packs that I brought which were AMAZING. After my workouts in the morning, or for breakfast, I would just shake it up with some water. And it would hold me over until my Mudslide during lunch #counterproductive #notsorry. But for real, having snacks on hand will help you get through the day and let you indulge in things you actually want to indulge in (mudslides, ice cream, etc. This girl doesn’t need to waste calories on a breakfast pastry buffet, thank you).

Oh, and don’t eat all of your snacks on the plane ride down. That may or may not have happened before. To me.

3.) HYDRATE


photo-3

 

Would you believe me if I told you that there’s coconut water in that coconut? Because that’s all it is. I was very intrigued about the idea of drinking out of a coconut, but thought you had to only order a fru fru drink to get one, then the waiter told me I could get it with straight coconut water. Since I’m so cool and prefer water over alcohol, I went for that, and it was delish. Just ignore my lazy eye, and imagine how awesome it is to drink out of a coconut. Why do I live in Boston again?

It’s hard to constantly be drinking water when you’re out of your normal routine and easy commute to a water bubbler, but always try to have a bottle on hand. It will help you stay full throughout the day and keeps everything in your system moving along. It sounds like a dumb thing to say, but sometimes something as easy as drinking as water gets forgotten when on vacation.

4.) Relax! 

photo-5 photo-4

Don’t beat yourself up too much if you want to indulge and splurge a little bit. You work hard all year round, so kick back a little. Just don’t get tooo far off track because then it will suck when you come back and will be even harder to get into your normal routine. Some people say I’m crazy to workout on vacation, but when you’re used to working out 6x a week, your body sort of needs it. So do a little working out, a little splurging on food, and a lot of enjoying yourself 🙂

Puerto Rico was amazing, I had such a good time. If you follow me on Instagram you were probably cursing me for posting tropical pics during the middle of a snowstorm up here, so I apologize for that. But now it’s back to reality, back on track, wompity womp womp.

Does anyone have any holiday travel tips? How do you stay on track on the road?

-Emily

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “How to stay (relatively) healthy on vacation..

  1. Sounds like you had a blast and stayed on track! I, on the other hand, went to Mexico and totally blew my diet up. All inclusive buffets are a nightmare. ha!

  2. Awesome pictures! I actually just got back from Puerto Rico too (Fajardo) 2 weeks ago, and I miss the beach (and warm weather). Just found your blog randomly today after googling sweet potatoes, and it’s great! I’m in Boston too and have wanted to check out Recycle studio for a while now – definitely going to soon.

  3. Well hello there! Hadn’t read your blog in a while! Great post. I admire that you worked out 3 times in Puerto Rico. While I was there (overlapping your stay) I tried to incorporate fun outdoor activities too so I could be in the sun and work out. Ie surfing and rainforest hike. Just another way to get in a (sort of) workout and have fun 🙂 Actually surfing was a total workout, my arms were screaming the next day from all the paddling.

Leave a Reply

