We’re Alive/21 Day Sugar Detox Recap

Yes, yes YES we are alive!! SO sorry for the absence.. you all know how the end of the year is. It’s just been nutty. But new years resolution is to stay on top of the blog. I will be posting at least twice a week and Erica will be posting at least once. We will not desert you again! Promise!

SugarDetoxLogo

 

So, the Sugar Detox. You probably want to know how it all panned out. I’m not really sure where to start. This thing made me feel like shit, and I didn’t stick with it 100% the whole time. After a week, I started eating bananas again because I just felt so off. Then, I got a really bad head cold so the second week, I started eating other fruits (berries, apples and mangos specifically). I also had some orange juice, and cough drops (both all natural, but still sugar). I ended up caving and having cookies about 3 days before the official detox was over.

If I were to do this again, I would only cut out refined and processed sugar. I think natural sugar is healthy, and fruits are loaded with a shit load of vitamins and goodness that our bodies need. Especially me. I eat a lot of fruit, and it just makes me feel good. My whole system was thrown WAY off track by cutting it out.. I won’t go into detail, but my bathroom trips were way more frequent, I got my period a week early (which never happens, ever) and I got sick. So I guess that was going into detail. Whoops. Overall, I just didn’t think it was very helpful for me, and I didn’t feel GREAT all the time like I was expecting. I felt cranky, and my stomach was constantly hating on me. I’m not hating on the Sugar Detox- I know a lot of people have loved it and have had great success with it. I just think I’m a bigger fan of the Whole30 which allows you to have fruit.

The positives- I did lose a couple of pounds that I had put on in October/November, but I think that was a result of cutting out refined sugar, not fruit. It also made me realize that I don’t NEED to eat sweets after eating a meal, so I would say it helped cut down my cravings, for sure. And it made me re-think my snacks- I’ve been getting plantain chips, jerky, nuts, avocado and egg whites, etc rather than always getting fruit.

Anyways, there you have it. I am glad that I did it around the holidays so I wasn’t a total cow for a month. And, I did feel much better in my bikini when I was in Puerto Rico this past week. Oh yes, that’s where I was. I meant to do a post beforehand telling everyone. You probably didn’t even notice I was gone, did you? Thanks a lot! Well, here I was:

photo-103

It was AMAZING. I will fill you all in tomorrow when I do a vacation recap/staying healthy on vacation post. ARE YOU SO EXCITED?

Have you done a Sugar Detox? Did you like it? Did you hate it? Change your life? Poo ya pants? Spill!

-Emily

 

One thought on “We’re Alive/21 Day Sugar Detox Recap

  1. Puerto Rico looks amaze-balls.
    Glad you hear you made it through the detox in one piece… My attempt lasted a shameful 2 weeks; although I will say my cravings are definitely in much better shape.
    Hope you had a great holiday!

Leave a Reply

