Humpday Ramblings

Happy Hump Day!  So, a little bit of exciting news, I finally got a new job! WOOT WOOT.  And my first day is next Monday.  Although I am really excited, is it bad that I am more concerned about when I will be able to CrossFit than I am about actually starting the job? No?  It’s normal?  OK, great.

picture

This will be the first time I have ever had to drive to work.  Normally, I would just stumble onto the train half awake and spend the next 30 minutes turning my brain on.  Well ladies and gentleman, those days are about to change.  Now, I need to be conscious enough to drive myself from point a to b.  The worst part is I have to worry about grown up things like traffic and road conditions and getting pulled over.  Being responsible that early in the morning just doesn’t sound that appealing.

But I am excited! Leaving my current job was definitely not an easy decision.  I loved everyone I worked with and I was making more money than I deserved. But I was constantly stressed out and miserable.  I hated that I never knew where I would be or for how long.  Once I felt like I was getting back into a routine, I knew it would only be a matter of time until I was back on the road.     I am not free spirited enough to embrace a lifestyle like that.  I need a schedule and I need to stick to it.  Wow, I sound like a really boring person.

pic 2

 

(http://memegenerator.net)

But the point is, we are only here for a short period time.  Why would you choose to spend part of it doing something that doesn’t make you happy?  Why would you choose to be constantly stressed out and miserable?  There are so many more important things in life than a large paycheck (and this is coming from a prior business student, too).  What is the point of making all this money if you can’t enjoy it?  So take a moment today and think about what is important to you.  Are you currently making enough time for them?  Could you do a better job?  Make that your goal for the month.

-Erica

7 thoughts on “Humpday Ramblings

  1. Oh Erica, I couldn’t agree with you more!!! I have NEVER wanted to be in a position in which I dreaded waking up in the morning. That’s not the life for me, nor should it be for anyone. I think loving what you do is essential. If you don’t love it, it will show through in your work. Congrats on the new job and a solid schedule. Download the app – Waze. It’s a social gps that users update with accidents and traffic hold ups.

  2. Erica, I think you we’re in my brain today! First of all, I am a super routine person and when anything changes, my first thought is always about how it will affect my crossfit schedule! And on the whole priorities thing – unfortunately I’ve had some tough things going on around me lately to make me realize how short and precious life is. We need to appreciate all that is around us and really spend our time on our priorities!
    Congrats on the new job! Change is always a little scary but it sounds like this is gonna be a great move for your mental health and sanity, which makes it great for your physical self too. You never know how much mental stress weighs and wears on people. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

