Sugar Detox: Day One

Okay, so today is Day One of the Sugar Detox and I’m not going to lie- I feel like shit. My body is simply not used to waking up and not having sugar. I didn’t realize how much sugar I ate on a daily basis, but turns out I eat a shit load of fruit. I start most of my mornings off with a protein shake, either mixed with fruit, or have a banana after. I can’t have protein since most protein powders have sugar in them (if anyone knows of ones that don’t FOR THE LOVE OF GOD LET ME KNOW) and now I can’t have bananas either. Whenever I want a snack, I usually reach for fruit, or dried fruit (RIP mango slices) or trail mix with cranberries or raisins in them. Woah. So much sugar already and it’s not even 11AM.

So needless to say, this morning was a bit of a shock to my system. I need to start planning to wake up a few minutes earlier so I can eat before I leave the house. This morning, I didn’t eat my breakfast (hard boiled eggs mixed with avocado) until about 9:30AM (I wake up at 5). So that probably contributed a bit to my lightheaded-ness. Around 11 I had some leftovers (chicken thighs with broccoli, onions, tomatoes and herbs.. bomb) and had a few handful of nuts throughout the morning as well. I may or may not have consumed an entire bag of plantain chips on my ride home from work, and I’m currently eating more leftovers from last night.

I think the key to this detox is going to be snacking more frequently throughout the day, and re-thinking when I have certain foods. For example- chicken and broccoli ain’t just for dinner anymore. It can also be consumed before noon. Odd, but I’ll get used to it. My manager at work, who’s doing it with me, also pointed out that it’s mostly in my head. I am really psyching myself out, telling myself I NEED sugar, when I really don’t. It’s gonna take some getting used to for sure. Apologies in advance if I’m cranky this week!

Let’s talk about something fun. Like how much sugar I ate this weekend for my birthday. I decided I was going to go balls to the wall since the next 3 weeks are going to suck. A few cocktails were drunk this weekend, and many a dessert were consumed. Sorry not sorry. I had a great birthday weekend with my love, friends and family. I even got to dress up two nights in a row!! No spandex for this chica, hey ooohh!
6a5bd2ac3c3611e29c6622000a1f9e4a_7

53f71cbe3bf611e2aa5e22000a1f96ec_7505827623c3a11e2a4da22000a1f9253_7a4b17e063bf611e29f0922000a1fb76f_7d644b5e03b7a11e28a2e22000a1fbc67_7Sigh. The good ol’ days. Look how happy I was. I was eating sugar! Now I have a permanent sad face. Womp wompp. Just kidding.

Speaking of sad faces, I’m very sad to share that my grandfather passed away this weekend, exactly 6 weeks after my grandmother passed, so I’ll be heading to Montana again on Wednesday. I was very close with him, and am going to miss him more than words can describe, but I’m happy he is finally at peace and out of pain. Will keep y’all posted how I do on the detox out there- I’m a notorious emotional eater. Wish me luck…

Woof. Sorry to end that post on a sad note. Remember those smiley pictures of me .5 minutes ago? Scroll back up! See! Happy!

-Emily

4 thoughts on “Sugar Detox: Day One

  1. No fruit?! You’re brave! I do know of two potentially sugar free protein powders: one is Nutrient-dense Breakfast Boost and the other is RAW Protein. Check ’em out! Sad news about your grandpa. Good that he’s out of pain though. Love your dress in the first shot 😀

  2. Looking for protein powder with no sugar? Hemp protein powder. It’s natural as hell too. The only ingredient is Hemp protein. It’s got all the 8 essential amino acids.

  3. Here’s something to ponder: I assume you are maintaining your paleo diet whilst adding this sugar detox diet on top. If my memory does not betray me, the paleo diet is naturally low in carbs, virtually all of them coming from fruits and vegetables. Now, this sugar detox thing deprives you of fruit, and the paleo deprives you of grains and legumes. Therefore, foods naturally high in fat and protein are typically low in carbs. Your diet, for the time being, seems to be devoid of almost every source of carbs. I will grant you that the paleo diet has tricked your body into converting other sources of energy into fuel, ketosis being pathway to take. Therefore, you’re body actually has a head-start in adapting to this new endeavor. Your manager was right (kinda) in saying it is all in your head. As you can read from this link (http://www.fi.edu/learn/brain/carbs.html), the brain’s only source of fuel is glucose, most readily available in foods high in starch or sugar. Your diet, for the time being, is extremely, some might say dangerously, low in what it has been counting on since before its ancestors stood upright. The light-headedness is evidence that your brain is strained, but it does not stop there. In addition to thinking, your brain orchestrates EVERY process carried out within you; it stands to reason that if the guard at the front gate is weak and drowsy, the faltering of normal body functions and the infiltration by bodily enemies is all the more probable.

    I recommend eating an apple and then rereading this.

Leave a Reply

