Cyber Monday Giveaway!!

 

Cyber Monday doesn’t really have anything to do with this post, but it is Cyber Monday, and I’m doing a Giveaway, so there you go. First Giveaway EVER! Hey yoo!

One of the best things about my new job is that I get to wear workout clothes all day, every day (even though I basically did that when I worked at Arnold.. whoops). It’s also been cold as balls in Boston lately, so I have to layer up. One of my favorite things right now is my Reebok Play Dry zip up. I seriously have been wearing it every day to work. It’s really light weight, but warm, so it’s great for layering or just wearing on its own.

Please excuse my face.. It was very early…

The awesome people at Reebok sent me an extra one to give to one KICK ASS reader out there! It’s the same exact one as mine, so we can be cyber twinsies. That sounds really creepy. But moving on. It’s a size small in heather grey, and it runs true to size. SO here are the rules… One of the things I’ve been most inspired by at my new job is how many women are coming in there and starting over and really taking getting into shape seriously. It’s not easy, and a lot of them have been through many hurdles to get to this point. It’s really inspiring and motivating.

So, if you want this goodie, leave a comment in the comments section telling us how you’ve overcome obstacles to get back on track with your fitness. Tell us how you’re getting out there, getting after it. It doesn’t have to be long. It can be something as simple as “I’ve been really bad with eating treats lately and I’m starting a 21 Day Sugar Detox and am fully committing to it and will probably be miserable and cry all the time” (that’s mine, you can’t use it). But let us know why YOU are deserving of this kick ass zip up. Oh, and then you have to tweet a picture to us using the hashtags #getafterit #reebok #sleepeatgymrepeat.

Cool?! We will choose the winners by Friday and email you if you won!!

Happy Monday, and Godspeed.

-Emily

* I received this gear at no cost from Reebok as part of a campaign with FitFluential LLC. I am not getting paid or reimbursed to give positive feedback, all opinions are my own. 

 
19 thoughts on “Cyber Monday Giveaway!!

  1. Happy (Cyber) Monday!
    Itching to get out and do some exercise after work!

    I was very athletic growing up. I played soccer, basketball and volleyball as team captain for all. In order to keep that going, I ran one hour a day, EVERY DAY (no joke) for 2 years, I helped teach kickboxing, also danced hip hop/jazz and did many performances until…… one day… my body couldn’t take it anymore. Freshman year of college, I ended up getting surgery on my knee and because of my weak knee, ended up also slipping my disc on my lower back. Boohoo 😦 Because I was so active and used to being active, once I couldn’t be the same way, it all went downhill. I got super depressed and didn’t want to work out at all. So for couple of years, I had given up on all types of physical activities and feeling sorry for myself until one day, I realized – this is my body and I just have to be super aware of what my body is telling me while staying active. I started slowly by going to yoga classes to build my core and then started more vigorous workouts such as kickboxing, dancing and running. My body does bother me from time to time but I’ve learned to tell myself when enough is enough. It’s all about balance in the end. I’m definitely not as active right now as I want to be – but the inner athlete in me isn’t going anywhere. Looking forward to getting in shape again! Definitely putting in more yoga and running time in my schedule for the winter!

  2. I feel like I’m constantly fighting something, whether its a cold, or a flare up or a self-inflicted injury of some sort. Staying positive and with the course this year has been a HUGE success even though I’ve been through some ups and downs. Grey is my most favorite color I hope I win 🙂

  3. I’m a small, too!! It’s meant to be! 😉 Love the jacket!!

    I recently took a small break from consistently heavy lifting to train for a 10k. And by train, I mean I took 3.5 weeks of trying to get “runs” (walk/runs) and prior to three weeks ago, never did more than 3 miles. I hate running, but I wanted to push myself out of my comfort zone and go for it. And I had my very first 10k ON Thanksgiving! I didn’t die; I followed my plan, and finished in 1:16!

  4. I suppose I will have to enter on behalf of my girlfriend, since my traps make me a medium, at least! 😉 Anyway…After moving to a new city and starting at a new school, the sudden disruption of my normal exercise schedule, along with a sudden influx of school work and assignment-induced anxiety about breaking to go workout, I have gone through serious sacrifice and prioritizing to make my workouts manageable and consistent, while also maintaining a good work ethic. It was no easy task, but my love and value of fitness and health made me realize I needed to find a way to keep it going.

  5. I live in Okinawa, Japan with my husband under military orders. We have both gotten into CrossFit this past year and have recently started slowly (SLOWLY) transitioning into eating Paleo. While there is a CrossFit Box here on Island it is too far away for us to make it there on a regular basis. So, we make due by working out (always together – unless he’s deployed) at the gym on base. It doesn’t have everything we need for most CF workouts, but we make it work. Living on this tiny island has only exacerbated both of our love of fitness and living a healthy life.

    Thanks for the blog – they help keep me motivated (and entertained while at work)!

  6. Oh gosh, where to begin! I was pretty athletic my entire life until I hit my 30’s and became career obsessed. While working full time and also studying for my architecture license, my workouts fell by the wayside. 😦 After almost 2 years of being parked in front of a desk up to 16 hours a day things were not looking good for my health or my mental state. In addition to going up 3 sizes, I had zero self esteem and was afraid to leave the house or even look in the mirror! Last November (when I finally got my architecture license), I decided that enough was enough and I was getting back on track no matter what. I wish it were that easy, but it took me several months to get back into a gym routine that I could stick with. Workouts that I used to enjoy became overwhelming and frustrating in my new overweight body and I felt like giving up. Then one day I went to the best spin class EVER. Yeah the workout was great and the music was totally spot on, but what really inspired me was the instructor. She was welcoming, positive, and clearly passionate about her ride and I didn’t feel overwhelmed or judged for my lack of fitness. I quickly became her groupie and was attending every class she taught! I would even sneak out of the office during the lunch hour to catch one of her classes. Over the past year we became the closest of friends, and because of her ability to inspire and engage students like me, I’ve lost almost 40 pounds since I first attended her class! Four months ago, she told me she was moving to the West Coast and I was devastated. (Like, I had a panic attack when she told me she was leaving. 😦 ) Not only was I going to loose a close friend but someone who I relied upon for my workouts and my weight loss success. When she asked me to consider getting spin certified so I could take over some of her classes, I laughed at the idea. Who, me? Yeah right!! But then I realized how much I had changed, and I realized that it was not so far fetched of an idea. I’ve been teaching spin since August and I LOVE IT!!! Teaching spin helps keep me accountable for my fitness no matter how hectic things get at the office, and the best part is that I get to pay forward the encouragement and motivation I received from my amazing spin instructor who changed my life. I may not be able to squeeze into a size small yet, but if you pick me I would like to give the jacket to my spin instructor Carrie who changed my life!

    • Suzy! You are the sweetest person ever! This brought a tear to my eye and joy to my heart. I am so proud of you and all the progress you have made in less than a year. You are so awesome, and changed my life too!

  7. Oh gosh, where to begin! I was pretty athletic my entire life until I hit my 30′s and became career obsessed. While working full time and also studying for my architecture license, my workouts fell by the wayside. After almost 2 years of being parked in front of a desk up to 16 hours a day things were not looking good for my health or my mental state. In addition to going up 3 sizes, I had zero self esteem and was afraid to leave the house or even look in the mirror! Last November (when I finally got my architecture license), I decided that enough was enough and I was getting back on track no matter what. I wish it were that easy, but it took me several months to get back into a gym routine that I could stick with. Workouts that I used to enjoy became overwhelming and frustrating in my new overweight body and I felt like giving up. Then one day I went to the best spin class EVER. Yeah the workout was great and the music was totally spot on, but what really inspired me was the instructor. She was welcoming, positive, and clearly passionate about her ride and I didn’t feel overwhelmed or judged for my lack of fitness. I quickly became her groupie and was attending every class she taught! I would even sneak out of the office during the lunch hour to catch one of her classes. Over the past year we became the closest of friends, and because of her ability to inspire and engage students like me, I’ve lost almost 40 pounds since I first attended her class! Four months ago, she told me she was moving to the West Coast and I was devastated. (Like, I had a panic attack when she told me she was leaving. ) Not only was I going to loose a close friend but someone who I relied upon for my workouts and my weight loss success. When she asked me to consider getting spin certified so I could take over some of her classes, I laughed at the idea. Who, me? Yeah right!! But then I realized how much I had changed, and I realized that it was not so far fetched of an idea. I’ve been teaching spin since August and I LOVE IT!!! Teaching spin helps keep me accountable for my fitness no matter how hectic things get at the office, and the best part is that I get to pay forward the encouragement and motivation I received from my amazing spin instructor who changed my life. I may not be able to squeeze into a size small yet, but if you pick me I would like to give the jacket to my spin instructor Carrie who changed my life!

  8. I just finished a nutrition challenge thru my box. It was a great way to keep me on track. I totally fell off with the holiday weekend though. Starting back to working out tomorrow and am hoping that give me the push I need to get back on track!!

  9. After a crazy year, I had made it my goal to become stronger physically for that strength to spill into every aspect of my life- if that makes sense? When I moved, it was hard to adjust living on my own. In fact, I’m still adjusting. My jobs have crazy schedules, but I try really hard to get a workout in 4-5 times a week. I use instagram and various blogs (including yours!) for inspiration to get me off my butt and remind me why I’m doing this.

  10. LOVE the jacket!! This actually comes at a perfect time… I was hit by a car on my bike last week (Tuesday before Thanksgiving) and have been nursing an ankle injury ever since. The walking boot that I have been in hasn’t totally put my fitness goals on hold (hello, pullups!), but it has put a serious dent in my ability to run stadiums, heavy squat and deadlift. I’m NOT going to mope though, am going to do everything I can while still in the boot, and keep myself healthy so that when I can get back in the weight room for my legs (hopefully next week!) I’ll be ready to go and get after it again. 🙂

  11. OMG I love this jacket. It’d be perfect to biking to work here in LA.

    Lately my struggles in ED recovery have been holding me back from making good dietary choices. It’s also been leading to some really lack luster performance in the gym. Taking your lead, I started sugar detoxing yesterday to try and get ready to take some headshots on Sunday, and I’ve been kicking the gym routine into high gear: heavier weights, more plyo, harder intervals. I know I can’t reverse everything in a week, and having Aunt Flo in town does NOT help with the depression but once I’m in the gym and working, it’s such an amazing endorphin high.

  12. I began this year committed to incorporating some sort of balance into my lifestyle. From recently graduating college, moving to Boston, starting a new job, etc. I had a lot of changes going on around me and I wanted to start this new chapter of my life off on the right foot by ensuring that BALANCE remained the overarching theme in my life. In the past I’ve struggled with being too excessive in many areas: from eating way too much, eating way too little, focusing too much on cardio, feeling unaccomplished unless I worked out 2x per day/ 7 days a week, etc. These past few months I’ve really been attempting to create a balance in all aspects of my life. I spin (at recycle!) at least 2x per week, try to go on a run at least 1x per week, strength train at least 1x per week, and I’ve recently incorporated yoga into my routine. I eat healthy, balanced meals throughout the week and allow myself (portion controlled) indulgences. I don’t get too down on myself if I don’t have time to work out or if I sometimes overindulge.
    (Side Note: I realized once I showed up to recycle studio last night that I hadn’t, in fact, signed up for your 7PM Monday evening spin even though I thought I had and was SO EXCITED to go to it all day especially post Thanksgiving weekend and to get back on track….. no spots were available in the class. I was angry that I wasn’t going to be able to sweat out everything from the weekend. Two thoughts went through my head: “whatever, I won’t workout today and I’ll barely eat dinner” or “F*it, I’ll start again tomorrow and I’ll go home and have some more apple pie….” **CRAZY PERSON over here!!!** I calmed myself down, acknowledged my unhealthy train of thought and went for a 3 mile run instead and ate a balanced dinner of salmon, stir-fry vegetables, and part of an apple pie larabar 🙂 Everyday I encounter some sort of challenge but I try not to beat myself up over any slip-ups and pick back up where I left off in a healthy, controlled manner. This is something that I wouldn’t have been able to say of myself even just a few months ago. My recent efforts committing to a balanced lifestyle help me lead a healthier, happier life and each day I’m constantly improving 🙂

  13. I would LOVE to win this! My latest challenge has been winter weather. With snow and ice outside it has been very hard for me to maintain my workout and running to the same degree as I do in the spring and summer. Ive been trying to incorporate other activities to maintain my cardio and keep in shape over the winter, using a mini trampoline, working on muscles and weights (which I usually never do in summer) shovelling snow(!) and even getting my butt to the pool to swim laps. The one thing I know that even if it is harder, it is worth the effort because the difference in how I feel after working out is paramount to getting through winter with a positive mindset and maintaining my energy and fitness levels so that I dont regret wasting away my muscles over the winter. And wouldnt a new gorgeous Reebok jacket just help push me over the motivational hump so I can show it off at the gym!!

  14. Went from barely being able to walk outside of incidental walking to walking 18 miles for a fundraiser with 3 months of PT, lots of work, and a great physical therapist.

  15. oohh pick me, I run 4 out of 5 week days at 5AM. this is my first winter running with a headlight instead of going to the gym and hitting the treadmill. I meet a group which gets me out there, but I’ve decided to run long on two days a week (long = 10miles) which I have to do fast in order to make it home in time to get to work. Plus my group only does 5-6 so the last bit I am in the cold and in the dark by myself. I’m going to try really hard to keep it up and not blow it off till the spring when it is lighter out, a new jacket would be fabulous ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

