Weekend Recap

When I woke up this morning, I was so sore that I could have cried.  And, no, it wasn’t one of those “OMG I am so sore but I can still function so it’s okay” types of soreness.  Instead, it was one of those “OMG I might need to call for help because there is no way I can get out of this bed on my own” types of soreness.  But, let me tell you, it was WELL worth it.

Saturday my sister and I did the Spartan Sprint at Fenway Park.  At first we were slightly nervous/scared sh!tless because we’ve heard they were pretty hard and muddy.  Since it was 30 degrees out, rolling around in mud was not on top of our ‘to do’ list.  But, it ended up being a ton of fun!  There was LOTS bleachers, climbing over obstacles and lifting heavy things.   After the race, we hung out, got lunch with our parents and then cried on the couch for the rest of the day.

My sissy and me after the race. Go us!

And now for Sunday!  Probably one of the most fun, scary and challenging days I’ve had in awhile.  A couple of weeks ago (during our 10K race), my workout/life partner, Stacey, and I decided to sign up for our first CrossFit competition together.  Since we had been making pretty decent progress in the gym, we figured it would be something fun to try.  As the weeks passed and the competition got closer, I got more and more nervous.  The whole “what the hell are we getting ourselves into” stage started setting in.  Woof.

Stacey and me pre-WOD #1 (www.crossfitflorian.com)

Saturday night I felt like a 6 year old before the first day at school.  I tossed and turned, worried about what the day would bring, how we were going to do and what would happen if I fell flat on my face during a bear crawl.  I seriously had the most ridiculous scenarios run through my mind.  Then I started freaking out because it was late and I couldn’t fall asleep.  It brought me right back to my elementary school days.  Finally, I turned on my sound machine, opened the boring book I am reading and then fell asleep.  Phew.

Sunday morning started extremely early.  I was up by 6 and out the door around 7:15.  We got to the gym, registered and then hung around for what seemed like hours.  At 9am we had the athletes meeting.  That’s when sh!t got real.   We went over the movements, what was expected of us and what we could expect from them.  Stacey and I had a couple hours to kill until our first heat at 11:15.  Within the hour leading up to our first WOD I think both of us nervous peed 3-4 times.  The first WOD was a 3 rep max ground to shoulder.  We were both shooting for 105#.  We started with a couple of warm up sets, went WAY to fast during them and started to get a little tired.  Thankfully, our coaches were there on the side lines cheering us on, giving us advice and telling us to slow down.  As time progressed, my nerves chilled a little bit.  With a couple minutes left I nailed an ugly 115# clean.  I was super excited since it was a PR for me.

Our second WOD was a 4 minute workout consisting of 1 minute of max lateral burpees, 500 meter row and max lateral burpees in the remaining time.  This one was purely a sprint and sucked.  I thought it was the worst 4 minutes of my life until I encountered WOD 4.  But, it wasn’t ALL that bad.  I somehow managed to get 34 burpees so I was happy.

Row/Burpee/Row WOD, Goooo Stacey! (www.crossfitflorian.com)

WOD 3 was a 12 minute chipper that included 3 minutes of max front squats, 3 minutes of max box jumps, 3 minutes of max push presses and 3 minutes of max KB swings.  This one was my favorite.  I actually enjoyed the WOD.  I forget what we got for a score, but it was around 360 reps.  I’ll take it!

Then WOD 4 happened.  Definitely something I would like to forget about.  It was an AMRAP 6 of 50 foot bear crawls and tire drags.  Everything about it sucked.  I hated it and never want to do it again.  I don’t even remember what we got for a score because I blocked that memory out of my brain.

Ew, death after bear crawls (www.crossfitflorian.com)

And now for the exciting part!  Stacey and I placed first in our division! WOOT WOOT!  I could not be more proud of us!  When we initially signed up, our plan was to challenge ourselves, try something new and be proud of what we accomplished.  For us, this competition was bigger than just winning.  It was a chance to put ourselves, mentally and physically, to the test.  It was a way to prove to ourselves that we can do something amazing.  The whole winning 1st place thing was just an extra bonus/excuse to lay on the couch all night (“But Dad, I can’t put my dishes away, I just won 1st place in a CrossFit competition, do you even know how exhausting that is?!”).

Woot woot, First and Second place representing! (www.crossfitflorian.com)

And now for the slightly sappy part.  CrossFit has taught me that I am capable of so much more than what I give myself credit for.  It has taught me that I can do amazing things if I just trust and believe in myself.  CrossFit has given me a level of confidence both in and out of the gym that continues to blow my mind.  It is something I do to challenge myself, better myself and learn about myself.  It is somewhere I go to clear my mind, cheer up after a bad day or just go HAM for the hell of it.  CrossFit has made me appreciate everything I have and everything I am capable of doing.  And for that, I am extremely thankful.

What inspires you?  We wanna hear it!

-Erica

2 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. I love your tank tops from the gym!!!! I want to buy the Keep Calm and Lift Heavy tank that looks like that material from WOD Addiction. Congrats on placing!!!! I’ve done one solo competition and one team. I sucked at both, even after 3 1/2 years of CrossFit! I’m pretty small so I get tired with lifts that are easier for other people 😦

Leave a Reply

