Lucky Number Seven

On Monday, I had my toughest WOD to date. I meant to post about it yesterday, but even my wrists were sore and it hurt to type too much (I blame landing on my hands too hard in burpees. Fail)

via CrossFit One blog

Since I’m still a newbie to CrossFit, I didn’t really realize the extent of this workout when I saw it the night before. I also didn’t know what the F a “thruster” was (but I wish I had recorded my boyfriend’s interpretation of it though…). So I sprang out of bed Monday morning, ready to go. On the way out the door, my boyfriend told me “don’t hump any dudes at your WOD today”.

Um….

Turns out that thrusting has little to do with inappropriate dance moves, and everything to do with power and pushing yourself until you feel like you’re going to vomit (oh.. was that just me?)

Once I learned what a thruster actually was, I started to get a little nervous. I wasn’t sure of my weight (they wanted it heavy) and since I was having a hard enough time with just the 15 lb barbell, I only added 20 lbs for a grand total of 35 lbs (yeah, you like those math skills?!) I stuck to my previous max on my deadlift, 95 lbs. I think next time we do deadlifts, I’ll be able to add some more weight, but since I was going to be doing 49 of those bad boys (MORE MATH!) I didn’t want to get too aggressive. It was my first time doing kettlebell swings, I used a 26.5 lb one, and wasn’t doing full extensions (just coming up to eye level).

Okay. So this workout was WAY harder than I imagined! After the first round, I was dying (I am still using a resistance band for pull ups) and one round took me 5 minutes. I was dripping in sweat. It’s funny when people assume that you get no cardio in CrossFit. I’m going to start wearing my HR monitor because I’m pretty sure my heart rate is up just as high as it is in a spin class.

After a few rounds, the coaches realized it was taking everyone a long time and decided to cap the workout at 26 minutes. I was able to finish 5 rounds (that was the norm for most people) in 25:29 seconds. Yeah, I was all set with starting another round of handstand pushups (still doing those on the box). I realize now that I sound pretty pathetic, since my workout was so scaled back compared to most (lighter weight, modified pullups, pushups and KB swings) but I have to be realistic and realize that I am not CrossFit Superwoman (yet). This WOD was another example of the incredible coaches at CrossFit One. Seriously. They recognize that I’m a beginner, and are trying to set me up for success. Caleb and Ashley kept checking in on me constantly throughout the WOD, correcting my form, giving me advice, cheering me on. I can’t explain how much this means to me, and what a difference it makes.

One of the biggest knocks against CrossFit is that people are scared they’re going to hurt themselves. I was in the same boat. My previous, limited experience was not a positive one because I felt like I didn’t know what I was doing and that I was going to injure myself. My advice to everyone starting off- do some research. Since CrossFit is blowing up, I guarantee you that there are several boxes in your neighborhood. Do a trial at each of them before you commit to signing up. Tell the coaches that you’re a beginner. If they take time with you to help you with form, scaling, and talk about setting up an on ramp program, then they rule. If they’re just like “Oh don’t worry about it! You can definitely lift 100 lbs! JUST DO IT!!!) then maaybbeee you might want to consider looking elsewhere šŸ™‚

Anyways. Great WOD. I felt so accomplished at the end of it (even though I didn’t do a full 7 rounds). It’s exciting learning new skills and feeling myself get stronger every day.

And pull ups- I’m comin’ for you.

Whats your favorite WOD? Most challenging? Most fun? Sweatiest?

-Emily

 

4 thoughts on “Lucky Number Seven

  1. That WOD looks awesome! I love anything will pull ups. Cindy is probably my favorite all time and I love Grace… (Cindy is 20 min AMRAP of 5 pull ups, 10 push ups, 15 air squats and Grace is 30 ground to overhead for time). You’ll stop scaling eventually!!!!

  2. New reader of your blog. I’ve been doing Xfit for about 8 months now and we did “The Seven” for the first time last week. By far the hardest workout I’ve done in that time. I think it took me about 35 mins to do the whole thing. It was awful.

Leave a Reply

