Back in the Kitchen

So summer is pretty much officially over. I can’t believe how quickly it flew by. It was one of those summers where at beginning I was all “ahh I have no plans this summer, can’t wait to relax” and then all of a sudden every single weekend was booked up. Not complaining though- between getting to teach and hang out on the Cape every weekend and go to Scotland and Bermuda, I had a pretty fantastic summer. And I had a great tan. Which is fading fast. Wah!

I digress. The one thing that I missed out on this summer was COOKING. Since I was so all over the place, especially on weekends, I didn’t really get a chance to cook and prepare my meals. Lots of stuff was on the go, and I was eating out more than I normally do. This week, after getting back from Bermuda and returning to a semi-normal schedule, I was looking forward to getting back in the kitchen. I made 2 awesomely delicious things I wanted to share! Both were really easy, quick, and cheap. Definitely the biggest thing I’ve missed about cooking- the cost! If you plan it out right, it’s ridiculous how much money you save.

First things first. Pizza. I was craving pizza like woah. Last time I made a Paleo-fied pizza it was sort of a hot mess, but I have a food processor now so I felt more confident in my cauliflower crust this time! I did a modified version of a recipe I found on Spark People

Paleo-ish* Pineapple Pizza

*The reason it’s Paleo-ish and not Paleo is because there’s Ricotta cheese, so all you Paleo purists, read no further! I’ve never had a problem with dairy, and while I’ve cut back a ton since going Paleo, I still have it now and then. Especially on things like pizza. Come on!

Ingredients:

  • 2 C steamed cauliflower
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 C almond meal
  • 1 T coconut oil
  • 8 oz tomato paste
  • Ricotta cheese (as much as you want, I didn’t measure)
  • Pineapple (as much as you want)
  • Any other toppings you want! (I suck at writing recipes)

Directions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees, steam cauliflower and once soft, mash till it resembles rice grains with a food processor or use fork to mash.
  2. Mix all the other crust ingredients together.
  3. Spray pan down with cooking spray or oil place crust on pan and form into pizza shape
  4. Bake for 12-14 mins. until edges start to turn brown (its okay if it’s a little soft and mushy, that will go away once you top and back for additional time)
  5. Spread tomato paste evenly over crust
  6. Top with the ingredients listed or with your own and cook an additioinal 5-10 mins (I also stuck mine under the broiler for a few minutes to get it more crispy)

It tasted DELICIOUS. Not quite like normal pizza, but I didn’t feel like ass after, so that’s a plus. I think next time I’ll make the crust a little thinner so it is crispier. I’m still trying to figure out the ratio to get a perfect crust- anyone have any suggestions?

Brussels Sprouts and Chicken Sausage

Am I the only one who thinks that it should be brussel sprouts, not brussels sprouts? Doesn’t that sound odd?

Anyways, no real recipe for this one. I got two huge bags of BrusselSSSSSSSS sprouts, chopped them up along with a yellow onion, heated up some coconut oil, and threw everything in the skillet. On another skillet, I heated up some apple chicken sausages from Trader Joe’s (SO GOOD) and then threw everything together. Really eloquent huh? But, it took about 20 minutes, and it made enough for 3 additional meals. Loads and loads of veggies=good for you. Duh. Is it bad that I felt odd eating brusselSSSS sprouts without bacon?

I’m losing steam. I wish I was better about talking about food. I really only like talking about eating it, not making it. But both of these recipes were good. And easy. So make them!!

Oh, and don’t buy dark chocolate covered raisins from Trader Joe’s. Because you will eat them all in one sitting. Or is that just me?

Happy Friday!

-Emily

 

6 thoughts on “Back in the Kitchen

  1. I’m all for petitioning the capital of Belgium to change its name; not sure how well that would turn out, though.

    As far as the perfect pizza crust goes, it might sound crazy and unorthodox, compared to a base of pureed cauliflower, but I have had consistent results with bread flour 😉

Leave a Reply

