Week of New Workouts

Monday. Blehhhh! Just kidding. It’s not so horrible. Weather has been hot as hell in Boston, but after being in Scotland for a week, I’m happy to feel the heat and get a little tan back!

As you all know, I spin 4-5x a week, and have been trying to be better about incorporating cross training into my routine. Last week, I tried out 3 new workouts that I am so psyched about! Recap:

Tuesday night, I ran the infamous Beacon Hill neighborhood in Boston. It’s one of the oldest areas in the city, and one of the prettiest, but it also has the biggest bitch of a hill smack in the middle of it (probably most grammatically incorrect sentence I’ve ever written). My friend AR had been doing a Beacon Hill circuit when she was training for Tough Mudder, and she convinced me that I’d be able to do it, no problem. HA! To say this workout was an ass kicking would be an understatement! We would run up one hill, do 30 seconds-1 minute of exercise at the top (lunges, squats, mountain climbers, wall sits, pushups, etc) then jog down, then run up another hill, exercise at the top, jog down, repeat, repeat, repeat. We also spent about 15 minutes in a small park doing more core exercises and dips and pushups. I’m not sure how many hills there were (I think around 12?) and the whole circuit took about an hour and a half.

Because our legs aren’t burning enough.. let’s do lunges! Shoot me.

Playground= new favorite gym

I can’t even describe how sore I was the next couple of days! I haven’t run much at all in the past couple of years because of knee issues, so my body was not used to this kind of activity. Towards the end, I sat out on some of the down hills because that’s when my knee was really bugging me, but uphill was fine. I’m definitely going to be doing this workout again, and am investing in some Kinesio Tape. Have any of you guys used this stuff? Does it work?

I taught Wednesday morning and foam rolled for awhile that night which helped somewhat, but I looked like a moron walking up and down stairs. My legs were SO sore.

Thursday night after I taught, I went to my first softball game since about 7th grade. Although it wasn’t a super intense workout, I was definitely using muscles I hadn’t used in awhile. And not to sound like a total chick, but I broke a nail when I tried to catch a ball. And I didn’t even catch the effing ball. Fail. And we had half of the Harvard baseball team from the Call Me Maybe video playing with us, and we still lost. Double fail. BUT- we did have some sweet t-shirts.

 

Friday morning after a light spin, I went to my first Core Fusion Cardio class at Exhale. These classes are all the rage in Boston, and I was excited to finally check it out. It was AWESOME. Such a different kind of workout than I’m used to, but great for toning, burning and SWEATING. I didn’t take any pics, but here’s a class description from their website:

“Get ready to sweat. This barre-less class leverages moves from the original Core Fusion class, but combines them with sets of plank runs (like mountain climbers, but more challenging!) to raise your heart rate and maximize calorie burn — all while sculpting and lengthening muscles. Core Fusion Cardio also incorporates yoga postures with light weights.”

Apparently there are all different kinds of Core Fusion, but I’m glad I went to the Cardio one. If you live in the area, I highly recommend checking it out. Claudia was my teacher and she was awesome. Great energy but was not obnoxious about it at all (you know the kinds of teachers I’m talking about.. the overly perky, smile-y, “I could do this all day and not break a sweat” kinds of teachers) yeah she wasn’t like that! In a good way. I felt nice and sore the next day. The ONLY downside was that you’re in a plank/downward dog position frequently in class, which was making me feel a little dizzy towards the end. And it’s kinda pricey ($25/class) but definitely worth the splurge every now and then!

I taught Saturday morning down the Cape, then came up to Boston to go night kayaking through the harbor. I haven’t had great experiences kayaking before (steering into river banks, feeling like I’m going to fall over, chafing, being cranky the whole time.. yup) so I was a little hesitant, but my boyfriend’s mother is a kayaking fiend and has been trying to get us to do this night kayak with her forever, so we finally gave in. And it was so incredible. We launched from Kendall Square in Cambridge around 6:30, and had an 1.5 hour kayak down the Charles and into the harbor. We stopped at the Barking Crab for a bomb casual seafood dinner (pulled right up to the dock!) and then put on our night gear to head back to Cambridge. By this point, it was around 9:45, so it was dark, which meant we outfitted ourselves and our kayaks with glowsticks, lights, and head lamps.

Saturday night rave, or kayak?

I wish I could have taken pictures on the way back but my phone was locked away in a dry bag (I don’t trust myself not tipping over), but it was SUCH a beautiful night. It was almost a full moon, so the water was surprisingly bright, and the city as lit up and looking gorgeous as usual. We were going against the current on the way back on the Charles, so I hope I burned off some of the lobster food baby that was sitting in my belly. All in all, we kayaked for almost 3 hours and I got a great workout. I tried focusing on using my core to paddle, but my shoulders ended up being pretty sore the next day. Whooops!

Anyways, I had so much fun trying out new workouts. Not only is it important to switch it up so you don’t plateau, I think it’s also important for your sanity so you don’t go crazy doing the same thing over and over. Speaking of which.. I’m starting CrossFit soon.. more to come on that later.. eeks!!

What are you guys loving at the moment? Any hot new workouts you’re digging? I’m on the prowl for more!!

-Emily

 

 

5 thoughts on “Week of New Workouts

  1. I went to my first Xtendbarre class in Salt Lake City last Tuesday, and I am already so in love with it. Cardio, non-stop core and squats (plus arms!) AND I get to pretend I’m a ballerina. So awesome.

  2. You’ll love CrossFit! After doing that, I get so bored with any other workouts 🙂 I’ve stuck with it for three years and am hoping to open a gym next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

