Just Do It

Yes, I know the title of this post is quoting the post famous fitness quote ever, but there’s really no other phrase to describe getting motivated so perfectly. Get ready for a ramble…

After my vacation splurge last week, I told myself I would get back on track as soon as I got home, and would stick to a strict, super clean diet for the next 4 weeks. I’m just 3 days in, and already feel amazing. I am literally fascinated by how our bodies work, and how we fuel them. The point of this post is to tell you that if you’ve been making excuses, saying “oh I’ll start eating better tomorrow” or “I have a party this weekend, I’ll start after that” or “I just want an extra half hour of sleep” or “I’d rather sit on my couch and watch Game of Thrones instead of working out” (wait… that might be me sometimes..) just stop. Just stop making excuses and start accomplishing your goal. Whatever it is- losing weight, gaining weight, eating better, whatever. Just. Fucking. Do. It. Yes, the first day will suck. The first week might even suck, but your body is going to start responding quickly. You’re going to love the way you feel and wonder why you haven’t been doing this your whole life. Your body is going to love you and show you results quicker than you thought. You’re going to sleep better at night and have more energy throughout the day.

Like I said, it’s a hard first step. But once you take that step, once you make that commitment- you’re golden. I got home Monday afternoon and taught Tuesday morning and thought I was going to have a heart attack on the bike because I was so winded. But that was my big motivation right there. Why would I want to feel this way? Why would I want to feel shitty and lethargic and bloated, when I know I can feel strong, lean and energetic? It’s really a no brainer when you remove yourself from the situation:

Eat bad food and don’t exercise= shitty.

Eat good food and exercise= awesome.

How f-ing eloquent am I?

Sorry for the ramble/vent, I just get SO frustrated when you listen to people complaining about their weight or their fitness goals, yet don’t want to take any measures to achieve them. They just expect their solution to come in a bottle of Hyrdoxycut. Like, oh I’m sorry- you don’t want to put in the work? Then stop complaining and start accepting yourself as you are. You have to give something up to get where you want to be. It doesn’t have to be a big sacrifice! It can be as simple as waking up 45 minutes earlier, or skipping drinks with friends and going for a run instead, or cutting out french fries when you order a burger.

Anyways. Hopefully this helps give some of y’all a kick in the butt if you need one! If not.. here’s some fitness inspiration oogling from Pinterest. SPEAKING OF FITNESS INSPIRATION- did you watch the Marky Mark video from yesterday?!

 

 

-Emily

 

9 thoughts on “Just Do It

  1. Oh, man, I was just thinking the other day about how “Just Do It” is pretty much the best marketing slogan of all time. Like, Nike should never have to come up with anything new, because what could top that? Although I am really digging their new one with the heavy-set kid running down the street, and then it says “Find your greatness.”

  2. lots of good fitspo, here! . I have been on a fitness journey myself and it really does feel good to be active and not eat crappy food! Keep up the good work.

  3. I super appreciate the get-up-and-get-going attidude of this post. It’s so true. People are always saying they don’t have time, but really, you have to make the time. You have to.
    I also reblogged this on my exercise blog, Headed for Healthy, and passed it on to my regular daily blog. Just so you know.
    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

