Paleo Feast!

Every other month, all of the instructors at Recycle have been getting together. We’re going to be swapping taking turns planning a little something, and this month it was my turn. Unfortunately two of the instructors couldn’t make it, but we already have another get together on the calendar for September (which I’m sure will be here in 2.5 seconds). Naturally, I wanted do something relating to Paleo because I always get lots of questions about it and I was looking for an excuse to try out some new recipes. So I had the girls come over Friday night for some deliciousness.

Soo this was my first time “hosting” a “dinner party” (I feel like too much of a grown up using those phrases, so quotation marks are necessary) and it turns out I’m slightly disorganized. I had the day off from work, so I thought I would have pleeeenty of time to get everything done. I took a late morning spin class, and when I got home around 9:30 I decided it was far too nice out to sit inside and start cleaning. So I threw on my rollerblades and went out to Castle Island (in full neon, obviously).

When I got back from rollerblading, I took a quick rinse, ice cold shower, then made myself a big protein shake. Then I decided to watch some Game of Thrones (newest obsession). Then it was noon and my mom was ringing my doorbell, coming in and dropping off my brother’s dog. She immediately started panicking that I had done NOTHING all morning (she’s probably the best cook/party planner I know, for real) so she offered to give me a hand. I was all “Mom, I got this, no worries” and she was all “Oh no, no you don’t”.

Guess who was right? Hint: It was not me! Ha! My mom went into total superwoman/lifesaver mode and helped me get organized. In the end, it all worked out, and I learned that apparently the number one rule in party planning is to get all your stuff done FIRST and then if you have time at the end of the day, that’s when you can go rollerblading. Lesson learned.

ANYWAYS. We feasted. I made a few appetizers and desserts, and all the other girls brought dishes too.

Naturally, I got all my recipes from PaleOMG. I made the pineapple guacamole and honey sweet potato salad to start in addition to some figs and cantaloupe wrapped in prosciutto (bomb). I attempted to make my own plantain chips which was a total fail, so I got carrots and celery for dippin’ instead. Ann brought this incredible red pepper dip, Cate brought a huge mega veggie salad, Rachele made a fresh ceviche, Christina made ridiculous white peach sangria, and Aly brought some Paleo friendly tequila and juice.

For dessert, I made a lemon fruit tart and caramel pecan bars. Holy hell, these things were SO good (if I do say so myself). The caramel pecan bars were so easy to make and definitely did not taste like a “fake” dessert. I will definitely be making these again in the very near future.

End of the night pic! Cate had to strategically place her huge bowl of salad to block me because I had just dumped red pepper dip into my lap 5 minutes before everyone left. It’s not a true party unless I spill something all over myself.

It’s so much fun hanging out with everyone outside of the spin studio and outside of spandex! We were all shocked to realize that none of us were wearing Lululemon (although Aly and Rachele did have to check their undies.. die hards right there) Anyways, it was a blast and I’m really looking forward to the next one.

Oh, and second most important lesson I learned when hosting a party- use paper plates and plastic silverware. Sorry, I’m not sorry, Mother Nature.

-Emily

4 thoughts on “Paleo Feast!

  1. Pingback: Paleo Shmaleo

Leave a Reply

