Giving yourself a kick in the pants

Some days suck. Really bad. When that alarm goes off all you want to do is crawl back into bed and sleep through the whole day. I had a great internal struggle with my alarm Monday morning. It went off at 6am and I was like HAIL no, shut it off, and rolled over. As I started to snooze, I told myself I would get up in 45 minutes and do abs and pushups in my apartment before heading to work. Then my heart started racing and my mind started whirling. I was getting anxiety thinking about if I didn’t go to the gym, I would regret it later. Then I was telling myself that my body needed to sleep, I needed rest. Then I was mad at myself because I knew I had a long day ahead of me at work and would feel much better if I got a sweat in. Then I realized how comfy I was in my bed. Then I was mad at myself again. So I gave myself a kick in my ass and got out of bed. The entire internal debate took 3 minutes (it felt like a half hour).

I’m sure this is nothing new to you fellow AM fitness peeps. As much as I was looking forward to working out, and knew that I would function better throughout the day, sometimes it is SO hard to drag yourself out of bed. You have to think about the end goal. Once you’re physically up, you’ve already done the hardest part of your workout. The rest will be a piece of cake. Think about how exhausted you’ll be at the end of the day, and how much well you’ll rest that night. Think about how much more mentally alert and energized you’ll be throughout the entire day. Think about the payoff. I only had a half hour at the gym yesterday morning, but it was so worth it. I did 15 minutes on the stairs, then a back and ab circuit. Even though it was quick, it felt great, and naturally I was sweating like a beast. So next time you’re feeling that hesitation of crawling back into bed.. don’t. Sorry to quote Nike, but just get up and do it.

SIDENOTE: I haven’t been to the gym in awhile since I’ve been spinning a ton and doing random other workouts, but holy hell. I never realized how MISERABLE people look at the gym! People were legit yawning and were in half zombie like states on the treadmils and ellipticals. There was this one woman lifting who clearly had no idea what she was doing. And don’t even get me started on the dozens of people who were reading magazines or watching TV while doing cardio. No wonder so many people hate “working out” or going to the gym. They haven’t found something that works for them, that they truly love. There are SO many different kinds of niche fitness activities, you just gotta find your own. People get so bogged down by the idea of doing half hour of cardio on a treadmil, half hour of weights, and then stretching. B-O-R-I-N-G. Get out and try something new! Chances are, you can find something you love to do that takes less time and will have you working out harder than you imagined you could. What up, spin and CrossFit?

So there’s my two cents on working out. How was everyone’s weekend? It was GORGEOUS up here in Boston. I was down the Cape for the whole weekend, where I got to spend lots of time outside. I also taught my second class down there and it was awesome. Everyone that was there last week came again (a good sign.. I thought I scared them away) plus some newbies! I’m thinking this is going to be a fun summer.. 🙂

My kitchen sink scramble Friday night- Kielbasa, sweet potatoes, broccoli, peppers, onions, mushrooms, garlic, and salt and pepper. So delish!

PERFECT beach day! 

Topped off with a gorgeous sunset and Vanilla coconut milk “ice cream” with berries, trail mix, and dark chocolate chunks

Hope everyone is having a good week so far and giving themselves some big kicks in the pants 🙂

-Emily

5 thoughts on “Giving yourself a kick in the pants

  1. I get up at 4:40AM weekday mornings to run for an hour or so before work. It is so lovely out this time of year (and light!) it makes it easier. Also, I drink a big glass of water before bed so I HAVE to get up. Meeting someone also helps, you can’t ever stand up a friend. but still sometimes its a struggle ! I’ve had that debate many a time…

Leave a Reply

