Strong is the New Sexy

Traveling for work means two things, long client dinners and early morning workouts. Although I’ve always been a fan of working out first thing in the morning, it is significantly harder to get going after a night of delicious food and free alcohol. After sleeping in a couple of mornings, I had to adopt Emily’s “Get up, stop being fat” alarm to get me going.  It may be a little extreme, but it works. You try rolling back over after reading something like that. Whatever, judge me.

One of the DELICIOUS meals I’ve had this week.  I took the picture from the restaurant’s website because I had to eat it immediately (Rudisportsmouth.com)

Anyways, this morning I was at the gym, minding my own business, when I overheard something that I haven’t heard in years. I’m sure this comment bothered me more than it should have since I was extremely cranky from a lack of sleep (or too much wine). So what exactly was this comment that made me want to punch a b*tch in the face? I’m glad you asked! During a workout, the trainer next to me told two high school girls to “try to keep your shoulders down, nobody likes a girl with big traps”. Is this some sort f sick joke? Are you honestly telling a girl that muscles are unattractive?

 Image

This girl doesn’t life heavy because she doesn’t want large traps. Raise your hand if you want to look like her! (glogster.com)

Like many other girls, I’ve always been conscious of my weight. For the most part, I’ve had a pretty healthy relationship with working out and eating right. However, like any impressionable teenager, there were certainly times when I would take “being healthy” to an extreme. I had an idea of what I wanted to look like and would do anything to get there.  I didn’t care how long I had to work out or how many meals I would have to skip to get there. So, after hearing a comment like this, it instantly took me back to those days.  I thought about how obsessed I became with getting skinny, always shying away from any heavy weights to prevent from “bulking up”. If I started to notice too much muscle definition, I would eat less and up the cardio. Yes, I know it’s messed up. But that’s exactly what society is teaching girls these days. If you want to be sexy, you better be super skinny.

This is exactly why I love CrossFit. CrossFit teaches girls that strong is sexy. Muscles are sexy. Lifting heavy weights is sexy. Every day girls bust their ass to get stronger, faster and quicker. You don’t see CrossFit girls shying away from heavy weights; you see them striving to hit PRs.

  

                             The new CrossFit saying.  Love it. (www.lifeasrx.com)

Not only has CrossFit changed my body, it has honestly changed my life. CrossFit unleashes a drive that you never knew existed. CrossFit teaches you that anything is possible with a little hard work and determination.  I am forever grateful for being introduced to CrossFit. It is more than a gym, it’s a community of amazing people who inspire, motive and empower you to succeed.

-Erica

15 thoughts on “Strong is the New Sexy

  1. That’s insanity. I will admit though, when somebody says to me, “Wow, you’re really muscular,” I never know how to respond. -I- like my muscles. Fellow CrossFitters like my muscles. But I have no idea if the person wowing at my muscles is doing so positively or like, “Wow WTF lady, why the f* are your muscles so big when you’re a GIRL?!” Ya know? So I always respond with, “Uuuuhhhh thanks?” haha. But really, I love the fact that I’m muscular, and I -do- have pretty big traps for a girl. Some men have even liked my big traps 😉 However, I’m pretty sure all men prefer me confident and muscular rather than lacking confidence AND muscle.

  2. Love Crossfit! Wish I could afford their gyms. Speaking for myself and (unofficially) other men, that woman is disgusting. Don’t be skinny if that is what skinny means.

  3. At the spin studio I used to work at in NYC, so many riders would admit to not going as heavy on the resistance as they knew they were capable of or as the instructor was calling for, because they didn’t want to “bulk up” their legs, or build up too much muscle….never mind that they’d also be building up strength and endurance, right? I guess they just didn’t get the memo that strong is the new sexy! 🙂

  4. Man, whatever – my girlfriend doesn’t think my traps are big ENOUGH, figure that one out. Sad that those girls have to hear something so lame from someone they think they need to trust 100%

  5. I’ve heard so much about CrossFit and I think I’d like to give it a try, it’s just the time commitment and (even more) the cost of it. It’s on my list though! Good to know I’m not the only one with thoughts about ‘skinny’ and what it really means.

Leave a Reply

