Easy Paleo Fish Recipe

Sorry for absolutely sucking and being MIA for the last week or so.  Work was taking over my life. But, I am back! Woohoo! Super big thanks to Emily for picking up my slack, I owe ya big. Maybe I’ll attempt to make you some Paleo cupcakes this week. However, I’ve sort of banished myself from the kitchen after setting my oven on fire last week. So those cupcakes might have to wait.

Anyways, I must admit, I can’t take ownership for the recipe I am about to gush about. My dad stepped it up yesterday and made an amazing fish dinner. After the Paleo seminar a couple weeks back, my family and I have been trying to up our fish intake. I had a bad salmon experience last summer so it’s been sort of tough to get back in the saddle (is that even the right expression?). But, I’m off to a good start!  Three successful fish recipes in a row! I would share the other two other recipes, but they are honestly very unexciting. So, I’ll work on a good one for you guys next week.

So, here it is! I didn’t include exact measurements since it really depends on the size of the fish and personal preference. Like garlic?  Add a ton! Not a fan of olives? Don’t use them! The possibilities are endless!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. white fish (I think ours was haddock)
  • EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)
  • 4 cloves of garlic (I LOVE garlic so we added a ton)
  • Fresh basil
  • Fresh parsley
  • Olives
  • Mushrooms
  • Tomatoes (I used cherry)
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions:

  • Preheat your grill to medium-ish heat
  • Separate and clean your fish
  • Cover a cook sheet with tin foil and place fish on the sheet
  • Drizzle EVOO over fish (personal preference here, don’t go too crazy though)
  • Add salt and pepper to taste
  • Peel and chop garlic.  Sprinkle over fish
  • Wash and cut 6-8 stems of your fresh basil and parsley.  Sprinkle over fish
  • Cut tomatoes, mushrooms and olives into chunks and sprinkle over fish
  • Bring your fish outside (still on the pan) and place on the grill.  Grill for 8-10 minutes while periodically checking on the fish.
  • Enjoy!

This recipe made me want to have my own little herb garden like woah.  Is it too late to start one? Maybe I’ll look into it this weekend. I mean it can’t be that hard. I also want chickens in my back yard. A lady from the gym got that idea in my head. How awesome would it be to have fresh eggs every morning?! My boss told me chickens are smelly, but whatever, they will be outside. I’m sure my neighbors will love it. Do any of you have an herb garden or own chickens? I need to know!

-Erica

 

5 thoughts on “Easy Paleo Fish Recipe

  1. Growing your own herbs is great! I was afraid to try as I pretty much kill anything green but I decided to give it a go and so far it’s working out nicely. I got a big pot from the garden center and a bag of potting soil. At most garden centers you can also by small, already established herb plants. I grow basil, cilantro, and oregano. It’s great, easy to take care of, just remember to water, and now all my recipes have the advantage of fresh herbs! It’s so much more satisfying to know I’m able to grow them myself rather than over pay for who knows what from the store. Good luck if you give it a try. (Oh, I have a tomato plant in a pot as well and by some miracle I haven’t killed that either…it’s been really cool to grow my own stuff…I’d like to expand and try peppers and cucumber too).

  2. This is a great recipe! I have never tried that type of fish so I am excited to get in the kitchen and experiment! Thanks for sharing! I look forward to more of your suggestions!!

Leave a Reply

