I Wants to get Funked Up

I’ve been feelin’ the funk lately, in a good way. I’ve always been a fan of funk music, but was hesitant to incorporate it into my spin playlists. I generally play a solid mix of stuff, but primarily stick to electronic upbeat dance shiz. However, now that I’m more confident on the bike and don’t feel like I’m going to pass out while sprinting and instructing at the same time, I’ve been adding new genres into my repertoire– classic rock, boy bands (yup) pop, 70’s, disco, you name it. Definitely letting my true colors and eclectic taste in music coming through. Sometimes that’s a good thing, sometimes it’s a very, very bad thing (“Macho Man” came on my shuffle the other day and I seriously debating playing it in class…)

Anyhoo. Funk. Bringin’ it. Funk tunes are awesome for booty tappin’ and jumps because the beats are so strong and fun to move around to. I encourage everyone to have a dance party on the bike. It usually results in me dancing and head bobbing by myself, but that’s besides the point. Here are a few gems that I used the past week.

Kiel- Project Blue Book– I have the pleasure of being friends with these awesome dudes. Do yourself a favor and buy their cd (shameless promotion right here) but you won’t regret it. This is the first song off their new cd, and the energy is ridiculous. I used it as a warmup on Sunday morning- alternated between sprints, jump sets of 4’s, and some gearing up in position 3. Everyone was definitely awake after that one.

Call Me Up- Chromeo– Chromeo makes many appearances in my rides. This song is made for arm pumps and pushups. So good.

Move On Up- Lettuce– This one gets ya movin’. Perfect for a flat road with sprint intervals. I probably threw some crunches and chest presses in there too because I can’t do the same thing for more than 30 seconds.

I Need More Love- Robert Randolph– Holy crap. I LOVE Robert Randolph. I’ve seen him a few times live and he and his band are so f-ing amazing. If you ever get a chance to go see him, do it. Make sure you wear comfy shoes and minimal clothing because you will be dancing your ass off and the funk will melt your skin off. This particular song was perfect for fast jumps.

Cosmic Slop- Funkadelic– I’ve had a weird obsession with this song for awhile. Like I’ll listen to it 8 times in a row and pretend that I play bass and walk around going “ba dum, da dum dum dum dum” and look really cool. I used this for a warmup the other day with a little climb and some jumps. Some serious head bopping and bumpin’ around occured. How can you not?!

Give Up The Funk- Parliament– Classic jam. Perfect tempo for arm weights at the end of a ride. 5:45 of nonstop weights. Owwwwww indeed!

If anyone has some other good funk jams, please share! What are your favorite songs to ride to?

-Emily

5 thoughts on “I Wants to get Funked Up

  1. The Bad Rabbits have a lot of funky shiz you could work out to. I also really like everything by James Brown and his reincarnation Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears. Good luck!

  2. The Bad Rabbits have some booty shaking funk, as well as all things James Brown and Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

