Sweet Potato Muffins

I’ve been on a major Paleo muffin kick recently. I don’t know why, but I think food tastes better when it’s in the form of a muffin. Maybe it’s because you feel like you’re eating a cupcake. Except you’re not. Because we are Paleo and we are above cupcakes. Unless they are Paleo cupcakes. In which case, I will eat the whole batch. OMG, I love Paleo cupcakes.

Anyways, last weekend, my mom and I made some sweet potato muffins. Yup, some quality mother-daughter bonding time right there. Except I’m pretty sure my mom only offered to help since she doesn’t fully trust my baking skills yet. Just because I didn’t know wax paper couldn’t go in the oven does not mean I can’t bake, GOSH.

I digress. The muffins were fantastic. They were actually sweeter and more filling than I thought they would be. They do, however, take a bit of time to make since the potatoes have to be baked and mashed. But, they are definitely worth the extra time and effort. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups blanched almond flour (I used Trader Joe’s almond meal and it worked great)
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 large sweet potatoes
  • 1/2 cup of walnuts chopped
  • 2 mushy bananas, peeled and mashed

Directions:

  • Wash the sweet potatoes and wrap in foil.  Bake at 450 degrees for 1 hour, 15 minutes and allow to cool completely.  Slice in half lengthwise and scoop out the innards into a bowl.  Discard the skins.
  • Preheat oven to 350 F
  •  Mix the almond flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon together
  •  In a separate bowl, whisk the oil, honey, and egg
  • Mix the almond flour mixture into the wet ingredients. Once they are mixed well fold in the sweet potatoes, walnuts, and bananas.
  • Line muffin tins with paper or grease them really well, scoop the batter in and cook for 25-30 minutes.

-Erica

4 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Muffins

  1. Pingback: Paleo Gumbo

Leave a Reply

