B*tch of the Week: Chelsea

I think karma bit me in the ass the other day after my squat rant. After my little episode, I went to the gym, ready to start the week off right, only to realize I was about to get a taste of my own medicine. Do you know what b*tch was there waiting for me? Chelsea. For those of you who are not familiar with CrossFit, many of the standard WODs (work out of the day) are named after girls. Some of the benchmark WODs include Fran, Cindy, Grace and Helen. Anyways, it was Chelsea’s turn to make us all miserable. Here is what Chelsea includes:

Image via CrossFit Zombie

At first it doesn’t look bad. You might even think you’ll Rx it. But then you remember there are 30 rounds. And then you do the math. And then you realize it equates to 150 pull ups, 300 push ups, and 450 air squats. And then you want to kill yourself.

Maybe this isn’t a normal person’s thought pattern, but it sure as shit was mine on Monday. Want to know how to make Chelsea even worse? Watch another class battle through it. Want to know how to look like a complete dick in the WOD? You step on a person’s hand while they are doing push ups. If I was that man, I would have punched me in the face.

Anyways, in all honestly, it is a great workout. The only reason it took me so long to blog about it was the fact I was so painfully sore for the last 2 days. I literally did not want to even think about it. Every single cell in my body hurt after this WOD.  Yes, it was that bad.

Chelsea is not a b*tch to be messed with.  You will be begging for mercy after 10 rounds.  Keep with it.  Modify the workout if you have to.  After the first 8 rounds I went to banded pull up after my hands started to tear.  Don’t be a hero, just get through it.

Good luck!

-EB

11 thoughts on “B*tch of the Week: Chelsea

  1. We did this but stopped once you went over the minute. I made it to 13 rounds before going into the 14th minute to finish it, but I was impressed since most people made it to like, 8 or 9.

  2. OMG I haven’t come to meet Chelsea yet and I’m not sure I want to but I’ll do it anyway.. my first ever WOD was Angie- My coach didn’t think he’d see me again after that. haha.

  3. Sounds like, after a workout like that, you won’t be able to lift your arms to kill yourself, even if you want to! But squats are AWESOME, gotta love the squats. And the lunges. Also, the pushups, just maybe not so many…

  4. HOLY SH*T! I tried Chelsea yesterday for the first time. It was killer-hard, but somehow I can’t wait to do it again…
    I already found you two (ES & EB) hugely inspiring, but Chelsea brought a whole new level of respect! WOW!! 😮
    Kate

Leave a Reply

