B*tch of the Week: Annie

If you’re looking for a fairly quick workout (10-15 minutes) that will leave you exhausted and sore (sounds appealing, I know), Annie is your homegirl. For those of you who are not familiar with CrossFit, the majority of the benchmark workouts are named after girls. So, if you hear a CrossFitter say to another CrossFitter “I am so sore from doing Fran last night”, try not to give them a dirty look.

Anyways, Monday night was the first time I did Annie. Annie is a reverse latter (again, get your head out of the gutter!) that goes like this:

50 double unders, 50 sit-ups
40 double unders, 40 sit-ups
30 double unders, 30 sit-ups
20 double unders, 20 sit-ups
10 double unders, 10 sit-ups

 To make it a little more exciting, our trainer threw in a set of five heavy deadlifts (155 lbs for girls) in between each round. At first glance it doesn’t look bad. I honestly thought I was going to fly through it. Unfortunately, I could not have been more wrong. My entire body was sore for three days. I think it was more from the deadlifts than anything, so if you’re looking to spice Annie up, lift something heavy after each round (or buy her some lingerie). It will bring the workout to a whole new level.

My thoughts exactly during every WOD (image source)

The great thing about this workout is it can be done anywhere, any time. All you need is a jump rope. It took me 15:02 to finish it, but I kept getting tied up on the double unders. If you don’t have double unders yet, you can sub in singles. The standard procedure for scaling to singles is to triple the amount of jumps (150 singles instead of 50 double unders). With 450 single jumps, I’d say you’ll still get a pretty great workout.

Do you have a favorite Benchmark or Hero WOD?  Who’s your favorite girlfriend? And keeping up with the “inappropriate” theme of today’s post, we’ll leave you with this song that Emily played last night in her spin class.

Happy Thursday!

-EB

9 thoughts on “B*tch of the Week: Annie

  1. Thanks for posting this work out… I have never done a double under, but I will have to work myself up to them. 🙂 Cannot wait to try.

  2. Pingback: I Tried A WOD | Amateur Healthy Girl

  3. I go to the CrossFit in O’ahu and we have done Annie. Ya, she is a dirty bitch if you ask me. LOL Man, I miss her. I still want an WOD named Jen….I imagine her to be a stupid bitch. The WOD that leaves you so tried that you become stupid. Yups, that would be me.

Leave a Reply

