Pecan Crusted Chicken + Shredded Brussel Sprouts

This weekend, I had some bomb pecan crusted chicken at Not Your Average Joe’s and knew I immediately needed to recreate it for myself. My boyfriend’s aunt sent me a Weight Watchers version she had, but it called for using cornflakes, so I sought out a Paleo version, and found a great one on Everyday Paleo. Check out my modified version below- it was bombtastic if I do say so myself

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1/2 cup organic honey or spicy brown mustard (I used honey)
  • 2 tbsp raw organic honey
  • 1 cup pecans
  • Sea salt

Directions:

  1. Pre heat oven to 350.
  2. In a medium sized mixing bowl blend together the mustard and honey.  Toss the pecans in a food processor and pulse until the nuts are finely chopped.
  3. Pour the chopped pecans either on a plate or in a pie pan if you have one. Using a paper towel, remove any excess moisture from the outside of your chicken breasts.
  4. Taking one chicken breast at a time, first place the chicken into the mustard/honey mixture and coat on both sides.
  5. Transfer chicken to the chopped pecans and again cover both sides.  Place coated chicken into a greased glass baking dish (I coated the pan with some olive oil) and sprinkle each chicken breast with just a little sea salt.
  6. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until the chicken juices run clear.

I’m obsessed with Brussel sprouts, primarily eat them with bacon (womp womp) so I wanted to spruce it up a bit and eat them as they’re intended to be eaten- not covered in bacon grease unfortunately. Seriously, when I told my brother I bought Brussel sprouts he said “Did you get bacon?? I’ll go get some!” Clearly, I have a problem.

Instead of cutting them in half, I chopped them up into smaller strips, which allowed them to cook faster and also have a bit of a crunch. Super easy to make too- just heat up some olive oil, toss ’em in, and add some salt, pepper, and lemon juice. Keep stirring constantly so they don’t burn. At a medium-high heat, they only take about 10 minutes. Enjoy!

-ES

 

6 thoughts on “Pecan Crusted Chicken + Shredded Brussel Sprouts

Leave a Reply

