New Obsession: Kava Tea

Have you guys ever had Kava tea? Holy crap, how did I not know about this until last week? Since I’ve been spinning my butt off lately (well not quite.. it’s actually getting bigger) I’ve been pretty sore at the end of the day. Muscle fatigue, slight cramping, IT band hating me, etc. Just generally wincing and being a brat about everything. Typical.

My friend Victoria told me about this magical tea she had been taking that was helping relieve some tension in her joints and her muscles (she’s a spinning beast as well! Check her out!!) I was intrigued, and am ALWAYS looking for an alternative to taking Advil 10x a day, so I was excited to try it out. I was even more intrigued when Victoria told me that the FDA might be taking Kava off the market because it makes you feel, um, a little too good..

A little bit about Kava…

The roots of the plant are used to produce a drink with sedative and anesthetic properties. Kava is consumed throughout the Pacific Ocean cultures of Polynesia, including Hawaii, Vanuatu, Melanesia and some parts of Micronesia. Kava is sedating and is primarily consumed to relax without disrupting mental clarity. Its active ingredients are called kavalactones.

Medical literature sometimes claims kava has a “potential for addiction” because “it produces mild euphoria and relaxation”. In a traditional setting, a moderately potent kava drink causes effects within 20–30 minutes that last for about two and a half hours, but can be felt for up to eight hours. Some report longer-term effects up to two days after ingestion, including a feeling of mental clarity, patience, and an ease of acceptance. The effects of kava are most often compared to alcohol, or diazepam. A potent drink results in a faster onset with a lack of stimulation; the user’s eyes become sensitive to light, the person soon becomes somnolent and then has deep, dreamless sleep within 30 minutes. Sleep is often restful and pronounced periods of sleepiness correlate to the amount and potency of kava consumed. After wakening, the drinker usually does not experience any mental or physical after effects. However, this sleep has been reported as extremely restful and the user often wakes up more stimulated than he or she normally would (though excessive consumption of exceptionally potent brew has been known to cause pronounced sleepiness into the next day). Although heavy doses can cause deep, dreamless sleep, many people reportedly experience lighter sleep and rather vivid dreams after drinking moderate amounts of kava. (via Wikipedia)

So yeah, needless to say, I was a bit hesitant/wicked excited to try this stuff out. After teaching the other night, I had a cup before bed, and instantly felt amazing. The tenseness and stiffness in my muscles eased, and I quickly fell into a deep sleep. When I woke up in the morning, I didn’t feel sluggish or anything, I just felt much looser and more relaxed. I was shocked! I’m a big fan of Sleepytime tea, but this was way better as it really relaxed my muscles and entire body.

A lot of grocery stores don’t carry it, so I ordered a bunch online (10 boxes, to be exact, NBD). But honestly, if you’re an athlete and deal with muscle fatigue and tension, check this out. It’s all natural, all herbal tea. I’m haven’t been drinking it every night, but it’s great for those nights when your body is just so sore and tight. It’s been a week and I haven’t taken Advil once! (I used to take it every day, not good, I know) And I’m sorry, FDA, but I’m pretty sure drinking natural herbs is better for my body than crushing Advil every day. Oh, and according to you, pizza is a vegetable, so I’m not really sure I care about trusting anything you say.

Definitely check it out and let me know what you guys think. I hope it helps you as much as it’s been helping me!

Happy Friday 🙂

-ES

20 thoughts on “New Obsession: Kava Tea

  1. Too funny! I’ve never seen or heard of it as tea before…I’ve had Kava (just the ground root with water, traditional style) many times; in Fiji, New Zealand and at family gatherings with the inlaws because my husband is of Samoan descent. I totally makes you chillout….a little too chilled out if you know what I mean….and it tastes like dirt….but maybe it will be different in ‘tea’ form.
    Definitely sounds interesting though!!!

  2. I’ve had straight Kava before, which is always a “blast in a glass”. LOL It’s pretty popular in Hawai’i, we even have a kava festival. I never knew Yogi made a kava tea. I have to find it!!!!

  3. When I lived in Maui they used to have Kava parties. After reading your post I went to Whole Foods and picked some up. Very sore from a long run so this sounds perfect. Thanks for the to. Ian

  4. Love Kava and the benefits! Plus Yogi brand makes other really great teas. Luckily we can find it at our local market so we keep the house fully stocked! I also like the pure green tea and white green tea 🙂

  5. Pingback: Thirsty Thursday | Sleep, Eat, Gym, Repeat.

  6. Pingback: Choose your own adventure…… « Type A-Frame Personality

Leave a Reply

