Setting Goals

One of the things I love about my CrossFit gym is the sense of community and support it provides. Everyone wants to see each other get better, faster and stronger. This month, we’re focusing on personal monthly goals. In the past, I would make vague, long term goals that were hard to measure. For example, one of my New Year’s resolutions was to eat 80% Paleo. I think this is a great goal, but at the end of the year, how can you measure your success?

For our goals this month, our trainer required us to use the S.M.A.R.T method.  These letters stand for Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Timely. When creating a goal, it’s important to make sure it satisfies ALL of these requirements. If you have a specific goal, let’s say to run a half marathon in a month, but haven’t run a day in your life, I would say it’s probably not realistic.

Image Source

This month my goal is to get a strict pull-up. Currently, I can get about half way up. I know if I practice a couple times a week and focus on my back strength, it will be possible. A couple of the girls have them at the gym and look so bad ass.  I want to look bad ass too!

Now that my goal is out there, there is no turning back. Uh ohh! I am accountable to all you guys! Anyone else have goals for the month of April?

Let’s all help each other achieve something great this month.

-EB

16 thoughts on “Setting Goals

  1. This month I’ll start training for my first half marathon, and I’m on week two of the 100 Push Up Challenge, so my goals are to stick with my training schedules.

  2. Like the smart thing! No way can I do pull ups lol but my goals for April?…Continue my running/interval running, do more burpees (hard!) and try to stop being sabotaged by Cupcakes!

  3. Great advice. My current goal is to jog for 30 minutes straight by the end of the month. I have no mileage or specific pace in mind. I just want to be able to hit the street, and move my feet semi-quickly for 30 minutes without busting a lung. Currently, I still need to take walk breaks however, slowly but surely, those breaks are getting shorter and shorter. Good luck with the pull ups!

    • It’s all about finding that perfect pace, and going from there. I used to run on the treadmill, before I discovered you can actually run outdoors 😉 Seriously though, finding that pace will allow you to meet your goal much more quickly. I took the winter off from running, and it has taken me a couple of weeks, since I restarted, before I found it yesterday. It was also cool and not humid yesterday, so that probably had something to do with it too. Find a pace, get the right tunes (integral imo) and if you take a break, it’s not the end of the world.

  4. Oh, *snort* “bust a lung”….I haven’t heard that phrase in a very long time! Good one! And good goal!

    I am always setting goals for myself but I have to say that they definitely do not follow the SMART rules. My fear is that if I really make it a specific and measurable goal and then I don’t succeed I’m going to feel awful about it. I prefer more…um….vague goals. Although I have to say, my progress in certain areas has also been more…um…vague. Correlation? Hmmm. You’ve got me thinking now………

  5. Arggg…. Pull ups are my nemesis too. I can grunt out 3 chin ups in a row if I only go down to where things become uncomfortable and then haul my body back to the bar… but I would like to be able to complete 5 chin ups consecutively by the end of the month. I’m kinda relieved to hear that all cross fitters aren’t efficiently busting through the “20 pull ups” routines….
    You can do it!! You have a lot of “followers” routing for you 🙂

    • Aw thank you playlifeoutloud! Pull ups have been my nemesis too! It always seems like my hands tear after a couple sets! I’m amazed by people who can fly through the pull up WODs! Good luck with your chin ups let us know how they go and if you have any advice!

  6. Double unders! I’ve been at CrossFit for three years and finally got muscle ups, but can’t string together double unders for the life of me! I’ve been able to do one at a time for a good 2 years now, but honestly, I’ve kind of been avoiding them because of how pissed off I get when I do them.

    • Woooo emarie congrats on the muscle up – thats amazing! My double unders suck to! I bought a cheap speed rope a couple weeks ago and they seem a bit easier but are still a struggle. Good luck girl let me know how they go!

  7. I love this! You girls are truly an inspiration and I’m hooked on your blog. Keep it up!!

    I definitely need to narrow down my goals. I’m pretty much all over the place with my workouts, so I think I need to sit down and create a schedule and then try to stick to it!

Leave a Reply

