TRXing

Last weekend, my mom organized a fun little TRX class for our whole family. Oh, that’s not your family’s standard Saturday afternoon activity? That’s weird.

All kidding aside, I feel really blessed that my mom, dad, and brother are all serious about their health and fitness. Growing up, we always ate healthy (my mom is a ridiculous cook) so I definitely got spoiled with developing that mindset from an early age. Anyways, in addition to being the best cook ever, my mom is also in crazy good shape. She’s an avid Pilates-er (what’s the word for someone who does Pilates a lot?) and has recently gotten into TRX. For those of you not familiar with TRX..

“Born in the Navy SEALs, Suspension Training bodyweight exercise develops strength, balance, flexibility and core stability simultaneously. It requires the use of the TRX® Suspension Trainer, a highly portable performance training tool that leverages gravity and the user’s body weight to enable hundreds of exercises for every fitness goal.”

Developed by Navy SEALs.. so right away, you know it’s wicked badass. Basically, you kind of suspend yourself into these straps that hang down from the ceiling. They look like torture devices or some kind of S&M contraption. But, you get a KILLER workout. It’s all fairly simple movements and exercises, but going against the resistance and your own body weight makes it 1000 times harder. Every single exercise focuses strongly on your core (if you do it the right way) and my abs were SO sore for about 2 days after. I’ve done TRX classes in the past and have always enjoyed them. It’s not a sweat dripping, heavy cardio workout, but you definitely feel the burn. As someone who does an excessive amount of cardio through spinning all the time, it’s important to remember to balance it out and mix up my workouts.

Me, wanting to die.

Wanting to die, part II. My family refused to be in any pictures (lame) but you can see my Momma and her perfect form in the corner!

One of the best things about TRX is that you can literally do it anywhere. My dad travels a lot for business, and has a set that he brings with him to set up in his hotel room. I’m thinking about getting a set for my apartment as well- they take up way less room than a bunch of free weights and exercise balls. Do you guys TRX? What do you do for weight/resistance training? I’m trying to get back into a good groove of consistently doing something a few times a week. Would love to hear how everyone’s gettin’ jacked these days..

-ES

16 thoughts on “TRXing

  1. Dear E.S.,
    That’s awesome that you guys do that together. I love, love LOVE TRX and have my own system. I am going to be using it more when I’m out of town each week. I have the deck of cards of different exercises. I’m curious about your folks sources of workouts? Thanks!

    Lorna

  2. I’ve only worked with the TRX once, but I loved it. I’m hoping to do a proper training course sometime in the very near future so that I can add some suspension workouts into my classes – such a great fitness tool!

  3. I have done some TRX in my Boot Camp classes. I really love my Boot Camps and would love more TRX in them. I love using my own body weight as my resistance. 🙂

  4. Never heard of this but it looks really good. Now that I’ve started exercising consistantly, I might be more willing to invest in something like this.

    Have you ever heard/tried P90X? What do you think of it?

Leave a Reply

