Morning Workouts

We’ve have always been advocates of working out first thing in the morning. Back in high school, we used to take a 5:30am pilates and spin classes at the gym we used to both work at. We felt so badass walking into school with our protein shakes in tow (“Yeah that’s right bitches, it’s 7AM and we already got our sweat on! What what!”). Sooo cool. Although we have now switched our protein shakes to Paleo breakfast smoothies, our early morning workouts have continued.

By now, you know we are not a fan of excuses. Everyone has time to cook, eat healthy and workout if you make it a priority. As Emily stated in a previous post, if you have time to watch tv, you have time to cook a healthy meal. This also transcends into working out. Everyone lives crazy, unpredictable lives.  Emily works full time as a designer, part time as a spin instructor and still finds time to hit the gym, eat clean and cook healthy meals. As a consultant, Erica is constantly traveling, living out of hotels and spending her weekends getting to and from a client site. No matter how busy we may be, we always make working out a priority. This usually means waking up at an ungodly hour (4:45am for me this week) and getting after it. Both of us have first handedly experienced the benefits of exercising in the morning. There is honestly no better way to start a day than sweating it out. Still not convinced? We’ve included a list of the benefits of early morning exercise below:

  1. You get to see gorgeous sunrises like this one. ‘Nuff said.
  2. Working out in the morning “jump starts” your metabolism and keeps it up for hours. This means you’ll be burning more calories all day long without any extra effort. In addition, you’re more likely to make better food decisions knowing you started the day off on a healthy note.
  3. Exercising in the morning energizes you for the day. For us, we’ve realized our mornings become SO much more productive at work (clearly Erica didn’t work out on this day...)
  4. If you commit 100% to working out in the morning, your body’s endocrine system and circadian rhythms regulate making it easier and easier to wake up early. via (Non-science talk– once you get into a routine, your body will naturally adapt, making you not want to murder your alarm clock when it goes off at 5AM).
  5. Working out in the morning starts your day on the right track. You don’t have to worry about something unexpectedly coming up in the afternoon that will prevent you from exercising. It’s already taken care of. Out of the way. Finitio. Badabing, badaboom.
  6. It relieves stress and gives you a clear head to start the day.
  7. Your metabolism, along with all the hormones involved in activity and exercise, begin to elevate while you’re sleeping. As a result, you’ll feel more alert, energized, and ready to exercise when you do wake up. Hormones prepare your body for exercise by regulating blood pressure, heart rate, blood flow to muscles, etc. All good things.
  8. Assuming you make exercise a true priority, it shouldn’t be a major problem to get up 30 to 60 minutes earlier—especially since regular exercise generally means a higher quality of sleep, which in turn means you’ll probably require less sleep. (If getting up 30 to 60 minutes earlier each day seems too daunting, you can ease into it with 10 to 20 minutes at first.) via SparkPeople
  9. When you work out in the morning, you have time at the end of your day to cook!
  10. …………Or go to Happy Hour.

Honestly, exercising first thing in the morning puts us in the best mood. Yes, we know we sound crazy to you non-morning people, but give it a shot for a few days and then talk to us. You have more energy throughout the day, sleep better at night, and burn more calories. And, once you’re up, you’re up. When I was first getting into the hang of getting up early, I had my alarm set to “You’re fat, get up”. Kind of messed up, I know, but I’d roll over, be tempted to hit snooze, then see that message.. and it would get my ass out of bed. Feel free to enter a more positive message though, no need to be as bitchy as I am. What’s the worst thing that will happen by going to bed a couple hours earlier? Missing the new episode of Real Housewives of OC (which I did last night.. because I was in bed by 10..)

Give it a shot, let us know what you think/how you feel! As my spin instructor said this morning when the light was starting to fill up the studio “Sweatin’ it all out before the sun comes up. Not bad, huh?” Nope, not bad at all.

We’ll leave you with some pictures of some glorious sunrises from last week (we’ll spare showing you what we look like at 5AM. You’re welcome). Oh, and Erica wasn’t kidding about waking up at 4:45AM. Here’s a text she sent me yesterday. With 3 exclamation points. Normal!

Do you guys work out in the morning? Does it suck sometimes? Totally against it? Let’s hear it!

-EB+ES

30 thoughts on “Morning Workouts

  1. I’ve been an avid fan of working out in the a.m. for years now. In the winter I usually switch to p.m. workouts because its warmer then. But as long as people are out there doing something, then to each their own! Beautiful sunset pics!

  2. Oh, I LOVE working out in the mornings. Usually also very early, alarm at 4:40, gym by 4:55 (I live pretty close!). Benefits include the fact that there is rarely anyone else there to infringe upon your space. Also if you workout on an empty stomach (which I why I can be out of bed and at the gym so quickly), there is something that happens within your body that promotes fat burning that doesn’t happen when you exercise after having eaten all day.

    I love knowing I’m done, that there isn’t something hanging over my head that I have to do either by fighting traffic right after work to get there or going home and having to pry myself out of the house later in the evening. Plus, if you exercise in the AM instead of the PM, you jack yourself up for the impending day rather than jacking yourself up in the evening and then not being able to get a good sleep.

    LOVE MORNINGS!

  3. I love working out in the mornings too! I usually get up around the same time you guys do…depending on what work out I’ve planned for my self. Besided feeling energized for the day and having more time to actually get things accomplished when I get home from work…I love working out in the mornings because that means that I only have to shower once in a day! haha, I highly dislike showering/drying my hair/getting ready twice in one day 😛

  4. I was always against working out in the morning…. I am not a morning person. I have switched. I love it. I started my new found love of getting up at 4:50 and running for an hour. It is great. I have a clear head, I am energized and I feel great. 🙂 I also love the time I have at the end of the day! 🙂

  5. Although I adopted the practice last summer and was quite happy with it, until about 4pm, when I would involuntarily pass out, I am currently resisting. Living in Kansas City, I suppose once the temperature is in the mid-90s at the time I typically run now, with high humidity to boot, I will probably readopt the practice. Dew on the grass, the sun, just starting to rise in the sky, and a little Tom Petty to set the pace are all pull-factors to my re-conversion to morning workouts 😛

  6. We have a physical therapy department where I work and we are allowed to use it before and after work and during lunch. So I do 20 to 30 min. light cardio in the morning, 20 min. on my lunch break and three days a week after work I do strength training. I do get pretty tired by Wednesday nights so that and Friday night are my nights off. I find I have to eat something before I work out in the mornings because of my low blood sugar issues. 🙂

  7. I am just starting to do this. I switch my job almost two years ago from a 1pm-11pm to 8am-6pm hours. I gain 20 lbs during this past 2ish years due to stress eating. I am almost to a month of getting up on Tue/Th for 6am Body Pump class. I am also going to start going on my days off too! I love the post, it is just what I needed to hear!

  8. I usually workout in the afternoons, mostly because I am the worst morning person ever! But I have been thinking about just going for a quick morning run everyday. Maybe just ease into the morning workouts.
    Haha! I love your “you’re fat” alarm! Haha, too funny!

  9. My biggest barrier to morning workouts is actually how sick they make me feel! I usually feel really nauseous in the morning during a workout but in the afternoon/evening I feel fine. I’d really like to try to make morning workouts work for me though for scheduling purposes and because I think if I could make it happen, I’d work out much more regularly and decrease end of day distractions. Any info/feedback on why I feel like crap in the morning and what I can do do fix it?

    • Hmm that’s really bizarre! We’ve never experienced that, but it might be because your body isn’t used to waking up so early. Maybe try going to bed earlier and easing into a routine. Also, drink tons of water when you first get up- your metabolism isn’t fully awake yet (we don’t eat before morning workouts) but water really helps to get everything going. Good luck!

  10. Pingback: Morning Workouts and Green Monster Smoothies | Unpolished Gem

  11. Good post! I love working out in the morning and love the fact that by the time I leave my crazy job at the end of the day, I get to do whatever I want whether it be go home and rest or go out and play. Nice pics too btw 🙂

  12. Pingback: pity party | ashley everyday

  13. I would prefer to work out in the morning but I find that doing the same routine (which involves some warmups, some strength exercises, and some cardio) in the morning is way slower and more painful than if I do it in the afternoon or evening.

    Despite not being a morning person, I recognize the benefits of starting the day out right, but when my workout is so much harder it doesn’t seem as great.

    Any idea what it is I’m experiencing here?

    • It definitely is an adjustment to work out in the morning, and it will be painful for the first week as you train your body to adapt to a different schedule, but once you get used to it, you’ll be fine! Good luck!

  14. Agreed totally. Morning workouts leave you awake and ready to face anything. I work in retail, so kicking my butt in the morning before heading in to work also keeps me calm and less likely to lose my cool with stupid people :p

Leave a Reply

