Party, Yoga, Love, Neon

In honor of opening their new store in Newbury Street in Boston, Lululemon hosted a huge outdoor yoga party in Copley Square on Friday night. I’m not a huge yogi, but wanted to go and support because a) I’m slightly obsessed with Lulu and b) two of my kickass friends, Aly and Lisa, were involved in promoting and organizing the event. I’m trying to find the words to describe how incredible it was..

First of all, we couldn’t have asked for better weather. The yoga was taking place from 7-8 on Friday night, but tons of people showed up around 5:30 to bask in the late afternoon sun. The temperature was perfect- high 60’s, slight breeze, perfectly blue sky at dusk. As hundreds of yogis began gathering, the event coordinators had to ditch the plan of giving out headphones because they only had 500 sets. So the DJ went into full effect, bumpin’ beats as everyone started warming up and settling into their mats. I went with a few coworkers, and it was incredible to watch what some of these yogis could do. I mean, I give myself a pat on the back for being able to touch my toes.

Oh you know, just hangin out..

The whole night was amazing. Not to sound like a total cheeseball, but there was so much energy and positivity flowing through Copley Square (did I just sound like a total yogi or what?? Wow..) Having this really upbeat music blasting and reverberating off the walls of the Hancock tower was pretty cool, and it was amazing being outside, surrounding by hundreds of other people all doing the same motions (some more gracefully than others.. what’s up almost falling onto my face 5 times) Not only was this a huge homage to Lululemon and the yoga practice, but it was a huge tribute to Boston. I truly love being part of a city that is home to so many health conscious people, there’s literally inspiration everywhere. I wish we could do this every week! Here are a few pics from the event from me and from the Lululemon Newbury Street Facebook page 

I’m in the green headband.. pretending I know what I’m doing..
Photos via John Reardon

Overall, an incredible experience. Thanks so much to Lululemon for putting it all together and to the people of Boston for being wicked awesome 🙂

-ES

8 thoughts on “Party, Yoga, Love, Neon

  1. I absolutely LOVE this post. (i am also obsessed with Lululemon and believe I am a true yogi at heart) It seems like you had an amazing time. Hope Lululemon does something like this soon in New York. Would love to participate. 🙂

  2. That looks so awesome! I have a P90X yoga tape that I do sometimes. It is so hard! Usually I can only get through half of it. 🙂
    Haha! I love all of the neon clothes!

  3. Pingback: I can’t get down with Downward Dog | Sleep, Eat, Gym, Repeat.

Leave a Reply

