Death by Burpees

Last week was the first week of the 2012 CrossFit Open. The Open is the first stage of the CrossFit Games where every CrossFitter is encouraged to sign up and compete either as an individuall, team or affiliate. If you’re interested in competing this year you can sign up here. Anyways, the Open consists of five different workouts posted once a week for five weeks. You can attempt the WOD as many times as you’d like within that week as long as you post your score by Sunday.

Last week’s WOD was to complete as many burpees as possible in seven minutes.  So what is a burpee? A burpee begins from the standing position with feet under your hips. You drop to the ground, with your hips and chest making contact with the floor, and jump back up to standing position. For the Open this year, it was required you jump and touch an object 6 inches above your reach at the top of your burpee. I included a video below if you want to learn more about this awful movement.

Knowing I was more or less going to die, I watched a couple videos on burpee mobility and strategy before I went to the gym.  The two videos below are the ones I found the most helpful and interesting.  I think the most important thing to remember before attempting any high rep workout is to warm up and stretch.  To prepare for this WOD, is extremely important to stretch out and open up your hips and shoulders.  Check out the mobility video below for some great stretches.

Anyways, the reason I am sharing this with you today is that I never realized how much of a fully body workout seven minutes of burpees provides. My whole body is literally still in pain from Saturday; my shoulders, abs, obliques, hips, quads and calves still burn.  And even though they suck, they really do provide a great workout. Plus, burpees can be done anywhere. You don’t need any equipment or weights, only enough area to jump around. If you haven’t done burpees before, I would recommend starting off slow and incorporating 10-20 into your workout until you get comfortable with the movement. Go ahead, embrace the suck. For those of you with more experience, challenge yourself and try to burpee for 3-5 minutes straight. No stopping. I promise that you will feel it the next day. I mean, they don’t say “no pain, no gain” for nothing.

-EB

PS- Emily happened to stumble into a CrossFit gym on the day of the Burpee challenge and will probably never return. So sad.

Here I am, not wanting to jump any higher.. if I never have to do another burpee for as long as I live, I will be extremely happy.  However, I checked out the WOD this morning and I’m pretty sure we are going to be burpee-ing.  How wonderful…

5 thoughts on “Death by Burpees

  1. Pingback: BRtv ZWOW modified workout 2/29/12 | alchemyofscrawl

Leave a Reply

