Workout Funk

For the first time this morning, I was completely humbled by a WOD. It was a double Annie (50-40-30-20-10-20-30-40-50 double unders and sit ups).  This would have been fine and all if I hadn’t been in a double unders funk for the last couple of weeks. I worked SO hard this summer trying to master them, eventually getting up to 10-12ish in a row. However, I took about a month off and when I picked up the rope a couple weeks back, I could barely get 2. I have no idea what happened, but it was frustrating as anything. So, when I saw the WOD, a slight panic set in. 300 double unders…really?! 6 AM is far too early to tackle a beast like this.

Anyways, our coach said if we didn’t have double unders we could substitute in burpees. 300 burpees?! I don’t think so. So, I figured it would be a great time to work on my form and get out of this funk.

For those of you who are familiar with the double under learning process, you know it is NOT a fun time. For those of you not familiar, here’s a quick video showing the joys of double-undering.

 

Fun stuff, huh? Basically, you end up with rope whips in places you didn’t know were possible. I started off super slow trying to throw in a double under every couple of jumps. I wasn’t very successful since my rhythm was all off. So, I decided just to go balls to the wall and string the jumps together no matter how badly I failed. Was this the best approach? Probably not. Trust me, I have the welts all over my body to prove this.

 

 Just a few battle wounds from this morning.
The welts perfectly match my sweater. Sexy and I KNOW it.

So, about eight or nine attempts in, I regained my confidence and was able to connect about ten together. Pretty solid. Thankfully, this continued through the WOD and I was able to finish in 25:14.  Was I the third to last one done today?  Absolutely. Was I covered head to toe in stinging whip marks? You better believe it. But what was more important was that I was finally out of my funk and didn’t give up. I could have switched to standard jumps as a couple of people around me did near the end. But what is that really accomplishing? Is it making you better? Stronger? Faster? I don’t think so. You owe it to yourself to give it all you have. In the end, what’s 25 minutes and 14 seconds out of your life?

Have you ever been humbled by a WOD or workout?  Ever been in a funk?  How did you get out of it?  We’d love to hear!

-EB

Leave a Reply

