Paleo-ISH** Salmon

**I say “paleo-ISH” because there’s Jack Daniels in this recipe. Let’s just pretend he was a caveman. I mean really.. I have a hard time believing cavemen weren’t boozebags. Sleeping outside amongst wild beasts every night? Not having any clothes to wear? You better believe they had a bottle of JD to help them pass out and keep them feeling all warm and fuzzy….. right? I mean… Jack Daniels is basically a symbol of America. To cut him out of my life completely would be so unpatriotic, I don’t think I could sleep at night. Really, I’m just doing a civic duty to my country. Okay, clearly I’m spewing BS. If you are totally against using a whee bit of bourbon, read no further. But, if you’re really feeling CRAZYYYY and want to let loose, check out this bomb recipe.

Grilled Orange and Bourbon Salmon

Image via Cooking Light (forgot to take pics AGAIN. Will get better, I promise!!)

Ingredients:

1/4 cup bourbon
1/4 cup fresh orange juice
1/4 cup Tamari
1/4 cup chopped scallions
3 tablespoons chopped fresh chives
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
2 cloves garlic, chopped
4 (6 ounce) salmon fillets (about 1 inch thick)

Directions:

  1. Combine first 8 ingredients in a large zip-top plastic bag, and add salmon to bag. Seal and marinate in refrigerator 1-1/2 hours, turning bag occasionally.
  2. Prepare grill.
  3. Remove salmon from bag, reserving marinade. Place salmon on a grill rack. Cook 6 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork, basting frequently with reserved marinade.
  4. CONSUME!

I had this with a side salad and swiss chard. Really delicious and flavorful. Got so wasted off the sauce, bro.

-ES

 

 

Leave a Reply

