Oven Roasted Kale and Carrots

Do you ever crave veggies like there’s no tomorrow? Big, green, leafy veggies, any shape or form. In my belly. ASAP. Am I alone in this?

Anyhoo, the other night, during one of my crack head raids of the produce section, I loaded up on kale, spinach, and carrots, and came across this wicked easy, delicious recipe on Ask Georgie that combined everything. This might have even been easier than throwing the kale into a food processor and injecting it directly into my bloodstream.

Ingredients:
1/2 lb. carrots, sliced lengthwise, then cut on diagonal
5 ounces kale, washed, thick stems removed
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 Vidalia onion (or any kind of onion, Vidalia’s are my favs)
4 cloves garlic, crushed or minced
Salt to taste

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Chop kale finely. I do this by running my knife through it in one direction, then turn the cutting board 90 degrees and cut again perpendicularly. Chop the onion.
3. Combine kale, carrots, onion, garlic and olive oil in a large bowl and use your hands to mix it well. Make sure all the kale gets massaged with oil.
4. Spread in a 13 x 9 baking dish and cook 20-25 minutes, stirring once halfway through. (The carrots should be tender and the kale wilted and brown in spots.)

I took this picture before putting it in the oven.. it didn’t look as appetizing after since everything was a little brown and wilted. I ended up adding spinach to this as well because l wasn’t messing around when I said I wanted greens. I definitely recommend this recipe, especially if you’re looking for a way to take the bitterness out of kale- the onion really adds some sweetness.

Enjoy!
-ES

 

 

One thought on “Oven Roasted Kale and Carrots

Leave a Reply

