ViPR Review

Happy Monday! How was everyone’s weekend? I decided to have a full fledged fitness weekend, which came to an abrupt end Sunday morning when I couldn’t get off the couch because I was so sore. The weekend included 2 killer spin classes at Recycle (which is my favorite place ever and will be getting it’s own review in the near future) and a ViPR class at Equinox. Have you guys heard of ViPR? I hadn’t until Saturday morning when my friend, VL convinced me to try a class with her. Since I’ve been spinning so much, I was definitely looking forward to some non-cardio strength and conditioning.

The video is an overview of the ViPR and what it does. Unfortunately the instructor we had wasn’t nearly as hot as the ones in the video, sigh. But overall, it was a great workout. We went through about 5 circuits with the ViPR’s, doing each circuit 3 times. The exercises included planks, squats, burpees, lunges, sprints, jumping jacks, high knees (so much for non-cardio!) crunches and ab work. The whole workout had a CrossFit kind of feel, but not as intense, thank G. When I was going through the burpee circuit I got the worst case of the giggles that just wouldn’t quit, so there was definitely some extra ab work happening as I tried to contain myself (seriously convinced that laughing gives you good abs). During the actual workout, I didn’t find it toooo strenuous, so I couldn’t believe how sore I was the next day! The video doesn’t lie- you legit feel it in every part of your body.

I would highly recommend trying out the ViPR! I think they’re exclusive to Equinox right now, but I’m sure they’ll be showing up in other gyms too. Sidenote- I don’t belong to Equinox, but was given a day pass by VL to go there. It’s normally $25 for a day, which is pretty steep, but if you take a class, do a light workout, then veg out in their amazing steam rooms and spa like showers, it’s worth it!

-ES

Leave a Reply

