Sweet Potatoes for Breakfast? Yes, please

I was listening to a Robb Wolf podcast the other day and he said that sweet potatoes are one of the best recovery foods to eat after working out. However, I find it very tricky to force feed myself a sweet potato at 7am. So, I thought making it more “breakfasty” would make it more bearable. I’ve been making this every day this week and it keeps getting better and better! I don’t have any precise measurements as its more of a taste as you go thing. So, enjoy!

Sorry the picture kinda sucks, I had to make it in a Styrofoam cup at work. Sweet life.

Ingredients:

  • Sweet potato
  • Coconut milk
  • Cinnamon
  • Raisins

Directions:

  • Cook the sweet potato as you normally would in either the oven or microwave.  I was using the microwave since that’s all I have at work
  • Once the potato is cooked through, cut it into small pieces so its easier to mash
  • Place the cut up pieces in a microwave safe bowl and add coconut milk until potato pieces are covered
  • Add cinnamon and raisins (I added a ton of cinnamon because its so delicious)
  • Microwave for 1-2 minutes until the milk is absorbed by the potato
  • Take out of the microwave and mash the potato
  • Enjoy!

-EB

Leave a Reply

