Spaghetti Squash with Almonds

Oh, I made spaghetti squash again? Shocking, I know. I’m sure I will tire of it soon, but for now, it is just so easy to make, and there’s a million different ways to prepare it, so I don’t feel like I’m eating the same thing over and over. Found this gem on Real Simple via my momma. The name doesn’t lie, this shiz is ruulll simple.

Image courtesy of Lisa Hubbard from Real Simple. I was too busy inhaling my food to take a picture of it.

Ingredients:
1 3-pound spaghetti squash, halved lengthwise and seeded
3 tablespoons olive oil
1/4 cup sliced almonds
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1 tablespoon honey
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
kosher salt and black pepper
4 scallions, thinly sliced

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 375° F. Place the squash on a rimmed baking sheet, drizzle the cut sides with 1 tablespoon of the oil, and turn cut-side down. Roast until tender, 30-40 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, spread the almonds on a second rimmed baking sheet and toast in oven, tossing occasionally, until golden brown, 6 to 8 minutes.
  3. In a medium bowl, stir together the lime juice, honey, cumin, the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil, 1 teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper.
  4. With a fork, gently scrape the strands of squash flesh into the bowl and toss with the lime juice mixture. Sprinkle with the almonds and scallions.

I doubled the recipe and added chicken as well. Can’t express how easy this was to make, and was uber delicious. Hope you enjoy!

-ES

 

Leave a Reply

