Spinach Artichoke Pizza/Casserole

A friend of mine was visiting from NYC last weekend, and we were reminiscing about one of my old favorite pizza spots, Artichoke. Holy balls, the pizza there is AMAZING. It legit is creamy spinach and artichoke dip dumped on top of thick, crispy delicious pizza crust. However, since that doesn’t doesn’t exactly fall into the realm of caveman food, I decided to come up with my own Paleo friendly replica.
First, I started with the crust from my previous Paelo Pizza recipe . This time, I used 4 cups of cauliflower and 4 eggs, which gave the crust a better consistency. I also cooked it in a pan (hence the “casserole” in the title). I think investing in a pizza/pie pan is definitely in the near future because it will make the cauliflower even more crust-like. Also, need to invest in a food processor because ricing cauliflower by hand is really not that much fun. But it did brown up nicely!

I also found a mostly Paleo friendly recipe for a spinach and artichoke dip at Livin Paleo. I altered it a little bit and only used 1 oz of cream cheese and just sprinkled fresh Parmesean cheese when it was baking. I think that in the future, the cream cheese can be substituted with Greek yogurt for the same consistency/lighter taste.

Ingredients:

1 can (14 oz) artichoke hearts in water
4 oz cream cheese
1/4 c. plus 1 Tbs grated parmesan
1 Tbs fresh lemon juice
1 small garlic clove
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
2 green onion, sliced
1 package (10 oz) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry

Place half the artichokes in a food processor, add cream cheese, 1/4 c. Parmesan, lemon juice, garlic, cayenne and 3 Tbs water.  Process until smooth.

Add green onions, remaining artichokes, and spinach, pulse briefly. Transfer to medium hot skillet/

(It didn’t come out this liquid-y! The juices from the artichokes/spinach were eventually absorbed after this photo was taken)  

I then added the spinach and artichoke spread on top of the baked crust and stuck under the broiler for 5-8 minutes. Enter: deliciousness.

I actually stuck it back under the broiler again after this picture was taken, but immediately started devouring it before I could take a picture. I like it extra crispy!

All in all, this was a great, easy, delicious recipe and I have enough leftovers for at least 3 more meals. It was really filling and satisfying. Next time, I think I’ll add chicken and opt for some Greek yogurt instead of the cream cheese. Hope you all test it out for yourselves and enjoy!

-ES

2 thoughts on “Spinach Artichoke Pizza/Casserole

  1. Pingback: Artichoke (Manhattan) | the halalBite food guide

  2. Pingback: Artichoke (Manhattan) | the halalBite food guide

Leave a Reply

