New Obsession: Spaghetti Squash

Okay, I’m just warning everyone that there’s going to be a little bit of gloating happening in this post. Mostly because I am so shocked and pleased that I cooked such a bomb meal last night all by myself! And it was SO easy. And SO effing delicious. AND you still get to slurp and make a mess like you’re eating real spaghetti (but honestly, this tastes better!) I am counting down the minutes until lunch time so I can feast on some leftovers.

Last week, I went with my mom and grandmother to this local Greek grocery store and loaded up on goodies. My family’s heritage is Albanian and some married Greeks, so I’ve grown up eating Mediterranean style cuisine (aka, the best). I was in heaven at the Greek store as I loaded up on olives, garlic, olive oil, fresh veggies, Lucanico, dried fruit, spices, herbs and maybe some dark chocolate… BUT I resisted the Baklava which I mean, come on (pats myself on the back).

ANYHOO. The point is, I got a spaghetti squash. And I cooked it. And it was AWESOME. I combined it with chicken and this AMAZING artichoke, piquillo, onion, pepper and tomato sauce that I bought at the Greek store (here) Normally, I would try to make my own sauce (actually, probably not, who are we kidding!) but this was way more convenient and probably way more delicious than I could have done, not to mention quicker. AND it’s all natural. Yay!

Ingredients

  • 1 spaghetti squash, halved lengthwise and seeded
  • 2 Chicken breasts (or any other kind of meat, or no meat at all)
  • Spices/herbs to taste
  • Sauce of your choosing

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a baking sheet.
  2. Place spaghetti squash cut sides down on the prepared baking sheet, and bake 30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a sharp knife can be inserted with only a little resistance. Remove squash from oven, and set aside to cool enough to be easily handled. (Sidenote- nobody told me that cutting a spaghetti squash would be a near death experience. Those suckers are hard to cut)
  3. Prepare chicken (I marinated mine, let it sit for about 10 minutes, then cooked on a skillet)
  4. Heat sauce and add spices to taste (garlic, basil, more garlic, om nom nom)
  5. Use a large spoon to scoop the stringy pulp from the squash, and place in a medium bowl. Toss with the sauce and chicken. Serve warm
  6. Enter blissful food coma.

 

I really need to start using my nice camera to take pics, not my phone, but I promise you this was delicious! I legit can’t stop thinking about it and am counting down the minutes until lunch when I can eat the leftovers. Even my boyfriend, who is as non-Paleo as they come, was impressed! I honestly think one of the reasons I loved it so much was because it felt like a big accomplishment to cook this amazing meal, not screw it up in some way, have it timed perfectly, and then be able to be like wow.. I did this! This is a great staple Paleo food, and can be made in a variety of ways, so I will definitely be experimenting more. Anyone have any good spaghetti squash recipes? Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

