Paleo Deliciousness

While  I was waiting for my friend to come over to make dinner, I thought I would make a quick snack.  Since I am still living at home and travel during the work week, there isnt too many paleo snack options in the house.  I did, however, find natural apple sauce, almond butter, coconut milk and raisins.  So I thought hmmm what can I whip up with this?  I decided to add it all together and heat it up and see where that took me.  I added all the ingredients in a sauce pan and let the apple sauce, almond butter and coconut milk simmer.  Then I added some cinnamon, vanilla and almond extra. OMG. So freaking good.  I threw in some raisins in for a little sweetness.  I can honestly say it came out 100% better than I imagined.  Since the mixture was a little on the sweet side, I think it would be perfect for a desert or anytime you craved some sweetness.  Since, I threw it all together, I don’t really have a specific recipe, just taste as you go and add what you like.  I will definitely be making a huge batch of this once I finally hit up the grocery store tomorrow.  Anyways, a rough estimate of the recipe is below, let me know what you think!


Ingredients:

  • 2 cups apple sauce
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons almond butter
  • Handfull of raisins
  • Teaspoon cinnamon
  • splash of vanilla
  • splash of almond extra

Directions:

  • Add apple sauce, almond butter and coconut to a sauce pan and simmer over low heat
  • add cinnamon, vanilla, almond extract and raisins
  • let it cool and enjoy!

Note: I think this recipe would be even better with apple, banana or other fruit chunks.  I will a little low on produce, so maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

