Work out like a dude today!

I gotta say- I love working out with guys. I know a lot of women feel uncomfortable in weight rooms around a bunch of grunting, sweaty meatheads, but I’m kinda the opposite. Not saying that I love grunting, sweaty meatheads, but I find myself more motivated working out around men or even having a guy workout buddy. As a total generalization, I feel like guys work harder in the gym Take a look around next time.. notice a bunch of women dancing around on the treadmills and ellipticals, reading People mag? Notice the dudes sweating and grunting and kicking ass? Again, just a generalization, obviously tons of women work out just as hard and the bottom line is, working out around people who are working hard is huge motivation. Maybe I just go to a total meathead gym… hmmm…

ANYHOO. I’ve been looking for some new lifting routines, and my brother just told me about this dumbbell workout from Men’s Fitness that has been kicking his ass, so I decided to try it out.

It. Is. AWESOME. The entire thing only takes about half an hour, so it’s perfect for when you’re crunched on time but still need a solid workout. I was drenched at the end of doing it, and was super sore the next day. Check out the whole thing here

I made a few modifications- I used 10-12lb weights depending on the exercise, and did it as a circuit instead of consecutive sets. I’ve been on a circuit kick lately, especially when under time constraints. But either way, this workout rules. I’d never thought to go to a men’s health website to look up workouts, but definitely will be doing so in the future!

-ES

Leave a Reply

