Maple Walnut Chicken

I also decided to copy Erica with an attempt at being domestic and did some cooking last night (I really just wanted to try those mashed sweet potatoes!) I’m not a chef by trade, but am excited about learning how to cook and testing out awesome Paleo recipes. I found this recipe for Maple Walnut Chicken over on Paleo Plan. I was surprised at how easy it was to make (if I can cook it, anyone can) and how flavorful it was. I tested it out on my brother and his friend, both non-Paleo eaters, and they both loved it too.

Ingredients:

  • 4 (4-6 oz each) boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 Tbs fresh thyme
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 3 Tbs pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup water

Directions:

  1. Combine olive oil, thyme, sea salt and freshly ground black pepper.
  2. Rub chicken with seasoning and let stand.
  3. In a 12″ nonstick skillet, toast walnuts over medium-low heat 4-6 min or until golden and fragrant, stirring constantly. Note: walnuts may burn quickly if left unattended.
  4. Transfer walnuts to dish, and turn heat up to medium under the hot skillet.
  5. Add chicken to same skillet. Cook 12 min or until done, turning frequently.
  6. Transfer chicken to a clean plate.
  7. Add vinegar to the chicken drippings in the hot skillet and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly.
  8. Add maple syrup and water, and simmer 6-7 min until slightly thickened.  Stir in walnuts and serve on top of chicken. (Next time, I don’t think I’ll add as much water- it made the sauce a little runny)

Finished product! The maple and walnut flavor went great with the sweet potatoes, and I just sauteed some kale to add a little green to the plate. I accidentally bought chicken tenders, not chicken breasts (told you I’m still learning how to cook) but it ended up working in my favor because I have a ton extra for leftovers. Hope you guys enjoy!
Leave a Reply

