Mashed Sweet Potatoes

This weekend I was feeling domestic, so I decided to whip up a couple of Paleo dishes to get me through the week. Since mashed potatoes are one of those foods I really miss, I figured I would see if I could find a Paleo version. I stumbled upon a recipe that used sweet potatoes, coconut milk, unsweetened coconut flakes, lime and pomegranate seeds. Although it looked delicious, I only had about half the ingredients at home.  So I pretended I was on Chopped (best show ever on the Food Network) and improvised.  Anyways, the dish ended up being surprisingly good. I made a ton of extra and cannot wait to eat it daily.  Feel free to switch up the ingredients since it seems to be a dish that can be prepared a thousand different ways.

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium sized sweet potatoes
  • ½ cup of coconut milk (add more or less depending on texture preference)
  • ¼ unsweetened coconut flakes
  • Zest of one orange
  • Juice of ½ an orange
  • 1 tbs. basil
  • Handful of craisens

Directions:

  • Bake potatoes in oven or microwave until soft.
  • Let potatoes cool for a couple minutes then cut them into chunks for mashing. (I left the skin on mine for the added nutrients. Either way is delicious).
  • Mash potatoes in a pot over low heat.
  • Add coconut milk and continue to mash.
  • Add coconut flakes, zest of orange, orange juice and basil to the potatoes and continue to mash.
  • Stir in craisens.

This recipe is really easy.  It takes all about 5 minutes after the potatoes are cooked through.  It is easy to make a lot of at once which is great if you are busy and don’t have time to cook every night.  Anyways, Enjoy!


2 thoughts on “Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Leave a Reply

